AustLit logo
Australia Council Grants, Awards and Fellowships
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Australia Council for the Arts is the Australian Government’s arts funding and advisory body. The Council supports a wide range of arts and cultural activities that involve professional artists or arts workers. Grants may be made to arts organisations as well as to individual artists across the country. Fellowship opportunities include the Creative Australia Fellowships. Literary grants encourage and support the creation, publication and promotion of Australian stories.

Source: Sighted: 10/12/2013.

Winners (also see subcategories)v1162

2018 (New Work Grant) Angela Gardner For the development of a manuscript entitled The Sorry Tale of the Mignonette, which draws on the story of Gardner's ancestor who was killed and eaten by his shipmates.
2014 Tamara Saulwick Researching new modalities, drawing in new influences, extending skills, & strengthening networks.
2014 Rebecca Slater Furthering my creative practice as a writer and editor of Australian fiction
2013 inaugural winner (Digital residency program ($20,000)) Christy Dena
2006 Thancoupie Gloria Fletcher Visual Arts Emeritus Award
2003 Claire Gaskin Towards completion of her second collection of poetry Bridges and Verandahs.
2000 (Literature Fund Grant) Chandani Lokuge
1999 (translation grant) Yu Ouyang
1998 Philip Salom $25,000 per year for three years to creat three separate collections of poetry and prose-poetry.
1997 (Translation) Quy Dong Le An award to translate from English to Vietnamese one or more of the following: The Girl Who Saw Everything by Alma de Groen, Travelling North by David Williamson or The Blind Giant is Dancing by Steven Sewell.
1996 (New work, emerging writers) Fiction Justine Kranz
1995 (Writer's Fellowship) Ding Xiaoqi
1993 (research/travel) y separately published work icon Last Walk in Naryshkin Park Rose Zwi , North Melbourne : Spinifex Press , 1997 Z968233 1997 single work biography This work provides an account of the author's journey to Lithuania where her father's family was massacred by the Nazis and their helpers in October 1941.
1992 (Category B - one year) Rhyll McMaster
1991 (literature board grant) arts for australians y separately published work icon Whisper Whisper = Sepetanje Danijela Hliš , Wollongong : Five Islands Press , 1991 Z829002 1991 selected work poetry
1982 (special purpose grant) Dimitris Katsoulis
1981 (special purpose grant) Dimitris Katsoulis
1980 (special purpose grant) Dimitris Katsoulis
1977 (Literature Board Grant) special purpose Vasso Kalamaras
1977 (Literature Board) Special Purpose Grant Amirah Inglis
1975 Clive Sansom One-year Fellowship