AustLit logo
NLA image of person
Gail Jones Gail Jones i(A26750 works by)
Born: Established: 1955 Harvey, Harvey area, Mandurah - Harvey area, Far Southwest Western Australia, Western Australia, ;
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Gail Jones was educated at the University of Western Australia (UWA), later joining the staff as an Associate Professor in the English Department there. In 2001, she won The Australian University Teaching Award in the Humanities and the Arts category. After working at UWA, Jones took up a position as professor within the Writing and Society Research Group at the University of Western Sydney. Her academic interests include gender and narrative theory, literary theory, postcolonial studies, cultural studies, creative writing, contemporary and Australian literature, and cinema studies.

Jones's short stories have appeared in numerous journals and have been highly praised for their linguistic richness and intellectual complexity, their subtle humour and intricate craftwork.

Jones has published seven novels to date (2018). Her structually complex debut novel Black Mirror was described by the judges of the Nita Kibble Literary Award as 'a witty interrogation of the problems faced by the biographer'. She followed this work with Sixty Lights, Dreams of Speaking, Sorry, Five Bells, A Guide to Berlin, and the forthcoming The Death of Noah Glass. Between them, her novels have won the Colin Roderick Award, the Nita Kibble Award (twice), the Western Australian Premier's Book Award (twice), the South Australian Premier's Award, the Barbara Ramsden Award, and the T.A.G. Hungerford Award, and have been shortlisted and longlisted for national and international prizes including the Miles Franklin Award and the Booker Prize. She won the Philip Hodgins Award (for a consistently outstanding Australian writer) in 2011.



Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2011 winner Mildura Writers' Festival Awards Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal
2011 Winner Sydney PEN Award
1997 recipient Asialink Literature Residency Program for residency in China. Jones spent four months based at the University of Delhi, where she worked on a novel set in India.

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon The Death of Noah Glass Melbourne : Text Publishing , 2018 11873096 2018 single work novel

'The art historian Noah Glass, having just returned from a trip to Sicily, is discovered floating face down in the swimming pool at his Sydney apartment block. His adult children, Martin and Evie, must come to terms with the shock of their father’s death. But a sculpture has gone missing from a museum in Palermo, and Noah is a suspect. The police are investigating.

'None of it makes any sense. Martin sets off to Palermo in search of answers about his father’s activities, while Evie moves into Noah’s apartment, waiting to learn where her life might take her. Retracing their father’s steps in their own way, neither of his children can see the path ahead.

'Gail Jones’s mesmerising new novel tells a story about parents and children, and explores the overlapping patterns that life makes. The Death of Noah Glass is about love and art, about grief and happiness, about memory and the mystery of time.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2020 winner Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature Award for Fiction
2019 shortlisted Voss Literary Prize
2019 winner Prime Minister's Literary Awards Fiction
2019 shortlisted Colin Roderick Award
2019 longlisted Davitt Award Best Adult Crime Novel
2019 shortlisted Miles Franklin Literary Award
2019 shortlisted ASAL Awards ALS Gold Medal
2019 longlisted The Stella Prize
2019 shortlisted Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Fiction
y separately published work icon A Guide to Berlin North Sydney : Random House Australia , 2015 8588237 2015 single work novel (taught in 1 units)

'A Guide to Berlin” is the name of a short story written by Vladimir Nabokov in 1925, when he was a young man of 26, living in Berlin.

'A group of six international travellers, two Italians, two Japanese, an American and an Australian, meet in empty apartments in Berlin to share stories and memories. Each is enthralled in some way to the work of Vladimir Nabokov, and each is finding their way in deep winter in a haunted city. A moment of devastating violence shatters the group, and changes the direction of everyone's story.

'Brave and brilliant, A Guide to Berlin traces the strength and fragility of our connections through biographies and secrets. ' (Publication summary)

2016 shortlisted Voss Literary Prize
2016 shortlisted Western Australian Premier's Book Awards Fiction
2016 longlisted Davitt Award Best Adult Crime Novel
2016 longlisted Kibble Literary Awards Nita Kibble Literary Award
2016 shortlisted New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
2016 longlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian Literary Fiction Book of the Year
2016 longlisted The Stella Prize
2016 shortlisted Indie Awards Fiction
2016 recipient H. T. Priestley Memorial Medal
2016 winner Colin Roderick Award
2016 shortlisted Barbara Jefferis Award
y separately published work icon Five Bells North Sydney : Vintage Australia , 2011 Z1735512 2011 single work novel (taught in 19 units)

'On a radiant day in Sydney, four adults converge on Circular Quay, site of the iconic Opera House and the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Crowds of tourists mix with the locals, enjoying the glorious surroundings and the play of light on water.

'But each of the four carries a complicated history from elsewhere; each is haunted by past intimacies, secrets and guilt: Ellie is preoccupied by her sexual experiences as a girl, James by a tragedy for which he feels responsible, Catherine by the loss of her beloved brother in Dublin and Pei Xing by her imprisonment during China's Cultural Revolution.

'Told over the course of a single Saturday, Five Bells describes four lives which chime and resonate, sharing mysterious patterns and symbols. But it is a fifth person, a child, whose presence at the Quay haunts the day and who will overshadow everything that unfolds. By night-time, when Sydney is drenched in a rainstorm, each life has been transformed.' (From the publisher's website.)

2013 longlisted International Awards International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
2012 winner New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards People's Choice Award
2012 shortlisted New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
2012 winner Kibble Literary Awards Nita Kibble Literary Award
2012 longlisted Miles Franklin Literary Award
2012 shortlisted Barbara Jefferis Award
2012 shortlisted ASAL Awards ALS Gold Medal
2012 shortlisted Festival Awards for Literature (SA) Award for Fiction
2012 shortlisted Indie Awards Fiction
2011 shortlisted Western Australian Premier's Book Awards Fiction
2011 shortlisted Victorian Premier's Literary Awards The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction
Last amended 17 Nov 2017 10:15:44
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: