AustLit logo
Australia Council Literature Board Grants
Subcategory of Australia Council Grants, Awards and Fellowships
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Winners (also see subcategories)v1138

2007 Félix Calviño
2002 (New Work) y separately published work icon Aozhou huang jin meng Liu Ao , Beijing : Qun Zhong Chu Ban She , 2004 Z1228756 2004 single work novel historical fiction The novel reflects the historical changes over five generations of five families (four Chinese and two European) from gold rush to modern times.
2002 (emerging writers) Nasrin Mahoutchi
1999 Salt Orange The Compromise Antonietta Morgillo , 1999 single work drama Commissioned to write the play Salt Orange.
1998 Venero Armanno $25,000
1996 winner (For poetry) Stefanie Bennett
1996 winner (Poetry) Writer's Project Grant Jordie Albiston
1996 winner (Fiction) Writer's Project Grant Raymond Allan
1995 winner (Category A Fellowship) Peter McFarlane
1994 (Writers' Project Grant) Children's Literature Gerard Lee $10,000
1994 winner (For poetry) Stefanie Bennett
1994 (Writer's Grant) Alex Skovron
1994 (Poetry) David P. Reiter
1993 (Writer's Project Grant) y separately published work icon Path of Ghosts : Poems 1986-93 Jemal Sharah , Port Melbourne : Heinemann , 1994 Z556680 1994 selected work poetry
1993 (Category B Fellowship) Sue Woolfe
1993 (Writers' Project Grant) Jena Woodhouse
1993 (Writers' Project Grant) Catherine Zimdahl
1992 (Writers' Project Grant) Andrea Lemon $7,000
1992 (Writers Project Grant) Stella Kent
1992 (Writers Project Grant) Tes Lyssiotis $7,000.
1992 (Category B) Kate Walker $23,000
1992 Margaret Simons $5,000 for Writers Project Grant
1992 (Writers Project Grant) Ian C. Smith $10,000
1991 Lidija Šimkute
1991 (Writer's Project Grant) Andrea Sherwood
1991 (Writer's Project Grant) Satendra Nandan
1991 (Writer's Project Grant) Beth Yahp
1991 (Project Grant) Christine Mangala
1991 (writer's project grant) Osvaldo Bonutto
1991 (writer's project grant) Marek Baterowicz
1990 Darrelyn Gunzburg
1990 (writer's project grant) Irina Pana
1989 (Grant to the Venice Studio) Sasha Soldatow
1989 (Writer's Project Grant) y separately published work icon Stories of Indian Pacific Dewi Anggraeni , Eltham North : Indra Publishing , 1992 Z50488 1992 selected work short story novella "Stories of Indian Pacific are three novellas, set in New Caledonia, Australia and Indonesia, written in Dewi Anggraeni's engaging style that moves easily from one location to the next. 'To Drown a Cat' explores racial tension in New Caledonia; Uncertain Step is the story of an Indonesian bride in Australia; and in Crossroads two artists, an Australian and an Indonesian, meet in Bali. The novella is set in 1988, shortly after the violent confrontation between the French army and Kanak separists in the northern island of Ouvea. The story explores the tensions that explode in bloody confrontation, within a family divided by allegiance to two sets of ancestors, the French Caldoche and the indigenous Kanak. 'Uncertain Step' tells the story of Aryani, and her relatively late marriage to Steve, an Australian teacher who already has two children, and is still good friends with his previous wife. Aryani finds the Australian scenery, Steve's hometown, Adelaide and people's response to herself very different from everything she is used to in Bandung. Her uncertain step into marriage with this warm but almost unknown Australian is the story of so many Asian brides and their Australian husbands. In 'Crossroads', the young Australian rock singer, Justin is introduced to a new world of art and life, when he meets the Balinese poet and playwright, Nyoman. Justin sees for the first time, art as close to nature and art as important for political and social change." (Source: Google Books
1989 (writers project grant) Edward Duyker
1989 Matthew Condon
1988 Darrelyn Gunzburg
1988 Helen Asher
1987 Lidija Šimkute
1987 Anna Maria Dell'Oso 3 month grant to the Australian Film and Television School
1987 Alison Broinowski
1986 (writer's grant) Victor Ramos
1986 (special purpose grant) Nikos Nomikos
1985 (Writer's Assistance Grant) Ania Walwicz
1985 (General Writing Grant) Rosa Safransky
1984 Andrew Lansdown General Writing Grant
1984 (General Writing Grant) Ania Walwicz
1984 y separately published work icon To Kolpo John Vasilakakos , Melbourne : Elikia Books , 1987 Z828038 1987 single work novel This novel tells the story of the prosecution of Greek invalid pensioners in Sydney.
1984 (general writing grant) Maria Lewitt
1984 (general writing grant) Sara Dowse
1984 (general writing grant) Anna Maria Dell'Oso
1984 (general writing grant) Jaques Delaruelle
1984 Ian Nash
1983 (Special Purpose Grant) Dimitris Tzoumacas
1983 (General Writing Grant) Dipti Saravanamuttu
1983 (writer's grant) Victor Ramos
1983 (general writing grant) Avital Nathani
1983 (General Writing Grant) Sergio Martín
1983 (Special Purpose Grant) David Martin
1983 Angelo Loukakis
1983 (general writing grant) Uyen Loewald
1983 (general writing grant) Brian Castro
1983 (general writing grant) Pino Bosi
1983 (general writing) Inez Baranay
1982 (Special Purpose Grant) George Kanarakis For research into the literature of the Greeks in Australia
1982 (general purpose grant) Jaki Nidle-Taylor
1982 Nikos Athanasou
1982 Attention : Fragile! John Vasilakakos , 1985 single work drama
1981 (Special Purpose Grant) George Kanarakis For research into the literature of the Greeks in Australia
1981 Nihat Ziyalan
1981 (General Writing Grant) 'Jimmy Saks' The grant was to complete How Do You Like Australia?
1981 (Special Purpose) Janis Balodis
1980 (Young Writer's Fellowship) John Foulcher
1980 Vicki Viidikas
1980 (general writing grant) Margaret Coombs
1979 (Special Purpose Grant) Satendra Nandan
1979 Zeny Giles
1979 (general writing grant) Zelda D'Aprano
1979 (general writing grant) Anna Couani
1978 (special purpose) Lilian Barnea
1977 (General Writing Grant) John Foulcher
1977 (General Writing Grant) Cornelis Vleeskens
1977 (Special Purpose Grant) Maria Triaca
1977-1978 Amitava Ray
1977 (special purpose) Don'o Kim
1977 (special purpose grant) translation Sonja Delander
1977 (special purpose) Lilian Barnea
1976 (Special Purpose Grant) Tad Sobolewski For a work on Polish migrants in Australia
1975 (special purpose grant) y separately published work icon Faces You Can't Find Again : short stories Michele Nayman , Belmont : Neptune Press , 1980 Z281274 1980 selected work short story
1975 (special purpose grant) translation Sonja Delander
1975 (general writing grant) Ralph De Boissiere
1975 (special purpose) Lilian Barnea
1974 (Young Writers' Grant) Vicki Viidikas
1973 Peter Joseph Kenna Three years to complete trilogy.
1973 (special purpose grant) Lech Paszkowski
1973 Andrzej Chciuk
((1981-2, 1983, 1987, 1990, 1995)) Jenny Pausacker