AustLit logo
Ditmar Awards
or Australian Science Fiction Achievement Awards; or Australian SF 'Ditmar' Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Ditmar Award (formally the Australian SF ("Ditmar") Award; formerly the "Australian Science Fiction Achievement Award") has been awarded annually since 1969 at the Australian National Science Fiction Convention (the "Natcon") to recognise achievement in Australian science fiction (including fantasy and horror) and science fiction fandom. The award is similar to the Hugo Award but on a national rather than international scale.

'They are named for Martin James Ditmar "Dick" Jenssen, an Australian fan and artist, who financially supported the awards at their inception.' (Source :

Winners (also see subcategories)v1505

1995 (Committee Award) Peter Nicholls
1992 (Special Ditmar Award for Services to Fandom) Susan Smith-Clarke
1971 (Special Award) y separately published work icon Vision of Tomorrow Philip Harbottle (editor), 1969 Yagoona : Ronald E. Graham , 1969-1970 Z1526529 1969 periodical (12 issues) Science fiction creative writing and critical articles.
1971 (Special Award) y separately published work icon Science Fiction in the Cinema John Baxter , London : Tantivy Press , 1970 Z811815 1970 single work