AustLit logo
Best Fan Writer
Subcategory of Ditmar Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Originally called 'Australian Fan Writer', this award was first offered in 1979.

The award was not offered in 1999.


2021 winner Bruce Gillespie for writing in 'SF Commentary'.
2019 winner Liz Barr for writing in 'Squiddishly'.
2018 winner Stephanie Lai
2017 winner Foz Meadows For body of work.
2015 winner Tansy Rayner Roberts For body of work.
2013 winner Tansy Rayner Roberts For body of work including reviews in Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth
2006 winner Shane Jiraiya Cummings
2005 winner Bruce Gillespie
2004 winner Bruce Gillespie
2003 winner Robin Pen
2002 winner Bruce Gillespie
2001 winner Robin Pen
2000 winner Robin Pen
1998 winner Leanne Frahm
1997 winner Bruce Gillespie
1996 winner Ian Gunn
1994 winner Bruce Gillespie
1993 winner Robin Pen
1992 winner Bruce Gillespie
1991 winner Bruce Gillespie
1990 joint winner Ian Gunn
1990 joint winner Bruce Gillespie
1989 winner Bruce Gillespie
1988 winner Perry Middlemiss
1986 winner Leigh Edmonds
1985 winner Leigh Edmonds
1984 winner Leigh Edmonds
1983 winner Marc Ortlieb
1982 winner Marc Ortlieb
1981 winner Marc Ortlieb
1980 winner Leanne Frahm
1979 inaugural winner Marc Ortlieb