AustLit logo
Best Artwork (1994-)
Subcategory of Ditmar Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


First awarded in 1994, the first year in which the awards had distinguished between 'professional' and 'fan' art.

Recipients of this award are only included if they fall within AustLit's scope (for example, they have worked as book illustrators).

This award was not offered in 2002.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

winner Kathleen Jennings for 'Mother Thorn and Other Tales of Courage and Kindness'.

Year: 2019

winner y separately published work icon Mother of Invention Tansy Rayner Roberts (editor), Rivqa Rafael (editor), Australia : Twelfth Planet Press , 2018 12913318 2018 anthology short story essay

'An ambitious anthology from award-winning Australian publishing house Twelfth Planet Press, Mother of Invention will feature diverse, challenging stories about gender as it relates to the creation of artificial intelligence and robotics.

'From Pygmalion and Galatea to Frankenstein, Ex Machina and Person of Interest, the fictional landscape so often frames cisgender men as the creators of artificial life, leading to the same kinds of stories being told over and over. We want to bring some genuine revolution to the way that artificial intelligence stories are told, and how they intersect with gender identity, parenthood, sexuality, war, and the future of our species. How can we interrogate the gendered assumptions around the making of robots compared with the making of babies? Can computers learn to speak in a code beyond the (gender) binary?

'If necessity is the mother of invention, what exciting AI might come to exist in the hands of a more diverse range of innovators?'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

Likhain, for cover illustration.

Year: 2017

winner Shauna O'Meara For 'Lackington's' 12.

Year: 2016

winner Kathleen Jennings Shortlisted twice: for cover art on Bloodlines, and for cover art and internal artwork on Cranky Ladies of History. Winner for Cranky Ladies of History.

Year: 2015

winner Kathleen Jennings Nominated three times, for the cover of Phantazein, and for illustrations for The Bitterwood Bible and Black-winged Angels. Won for Phantazein.

Works About this Award

After Russell Drysale's Snake Bay at Night & Deuteronomy i "If southward means to descend, under the low arc of meridional", Louis Armand , 2012 single work poetry
— Appears in: Arena Magazine , Oct - Nov 2012 no. 120 2012; (p. 13)