AustLit logo
Best Australian Short Fiction
Subcategory of Ditmar Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The category for Best Australian Short Fiction was first awarded in 1978, but was not awarded again until 1981, when the previous category (Best Australian Fiction) was permanently split into Best Australian Long Fiction and Best Australian Short Fiction.

This particular award lasted until 2000, after which it was replaced by Best Short Story.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 1999

winner The Truth About Weena David J. Lake , 1998 single work short story science fiction
— Appears in: Dreaming Down-Under 1998; (p. 161-192) Dreaming Down-Under : Book Two 2000; (p. 154-205) The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF 2013; (p. 45-82)

Year: 1998

Year: 1997

Year: 1996

winner Schrodinger's Fridge Ian Gunn , 1995 single work short story science fiction
— Appears in: Aurealis : Australian Fantasy & Science Fiction , no. 15 1995; (p. 29-36) The Aurealis Mega OZ SF Anthology 1999;

Year: 1995

winner y separately published work icon Cocoon Greg Egan , 1994 single work short story
— Appears in: Asimov's Science Fiction , May vol. 18 no. 6 1994; (p. 82-110) Luminous 1998; (p. 107-140)