AustLit logo
Yvonne Rousseau Yvonne Rousseau i(A20359 works by) (a.k.a. Yvonne Margaret Rousseau)
Born: Established: 1 Aug 1945 Benalla, Benalla area, Northern Victoria, Victoria, ; Died: Ceased: 13 Feb 2021 Heidelberg, Ivanhoe - Heidelberg area, Melbourne - North, Melbourne, Victoria,
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


A short story writer, editor and critic, Yvonne Rousseau graduated with honours in English and Philosophy. She has experienced a varied background, working in a number of occupations which include pineapple-trimmer, tea-lady, artist's model and stocktaker.

Drawn by the enigmatic narrative of Picnic at Hanging Rock (1967) Rousseau concentrated on the novel's various ambiguities to write the 'scholarly spoof' The Murders at Hanging Rock (1980). This companion work offers four possible explanations which creatively re-interpret the inconclusiveness of the original Hanging Rock narrative. Resting somewhere on the divide between critical study and witty entertainment, Rousseau combines 'fact with fiction' to solve the disappearance of the missing school girls who featured in the classic novel by Joan Lindsay (q.v.).

Although 'not a prolific writer of fiction', Rousseau has been noted for producing 'thoughtful and well-written science fiction short stories'. She was the editor of Australian Science Fiction Review from 1986 to 1991.

(Sources: Joan Lindsay et al The Secret of Hanging Rock, 1987; Paul Collins (ed) The MUP Encyclopaedia of Australian Science Fiction and Fantasy, 1998)

Most Referenced Works

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon Australian Science Fiction Review. Second Series Australian SF Review. Second Series 1986 Melbourne : Ebony Books , 1986-1991 Z1810204 1986 periodical The second series of Australian Science Fiction Review began in 1986 following a period of hibernation that began in 1974. The first series, published between 1966 and 1969, was formerly known as the Australian Science Fiction Newsletter (1958-1966). In December 1969 the zine's editor John Bangsund relaunched it as Scythrop (1969-1973/74). In all 27 issues of series two were published by Ebony Books for the Science Fiction Collective in six volumes before its final issue in March/May 1991.

Contributors included: John Bangsund, John Baxter, John D. Berry, Martin Bridgstock, Damien Broderick, Bruce Gillespie, Mark Linneman, Rosaleen Love, Joanna Russ, Norman Talbot, Michael J. Tolley, George Turner, Cherry Wilder, and Jack Williamson.

Australian Science Fiction Review won the Ditmar Award for Best Fanzine in 1991.
1991 winner Ditmar Awards Australian Fanzine
1990 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Australian Fanzine
1989 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Australian Fanzine
1988 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Australian Fanzine
Last amended 16 May 2021 10:24:46
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: