AustLit logo


Alternative title: Australian SF Review. Second Series
Issue Details: First known date: 1986... 1986 Australian Science Fiction Review. Second Series
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

The second series of Australian Science Fiction Review began in 1986 following a period of hibernation that began in 1974. The first series, published between 1966 and 1969, was formerly known as the Australian Science Fiction Newsletter (1958-1966). In December 1969 the zine's editor John Bangsund relaunched it as Scythrop (1969-1973/74). In all 27 issues of series two were published by Ebony Books for the Science Fiction Collective in six volumes before its final issue in March/May 1991.

Contributors included: John Bangsund, John Baxter, John D. Berry, Martin Bridgstock, Damien Broderick, Bruce Gillespie, Mark Linneman, Rosaleen Love, Joanna Russ, Norman Talbot, Michael J. Tolley, George Turner, Cherry Wilder, and Jack Williamson.

Australian Science Fiction Review won the Ditmar Award for Best Fanzine in 1991.


  • The Editorial Collective comprised Jenny Blackford, Russell Blackford, John Foyster, Yvonne Rousseau, Lucy Sussex, and Janeen Webb.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 1986

PeriodicalNewspaper Details

ISSN: 0818-0180
Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol 6, No. 2.
Scythrop (1969-1973/74)
Vol. 2, No. 2 - Vol 6, No. 2 also numbered consecutively as numbers 7-27.
Last amended 17 Jun 2014 10:58:36
    Powered by Trove