AustLit logo
Sydney Theatre Company Sydney Theatre Company i(A38300 works by) (Organisation) assertion (a.k.a. STC)
Born: Established: 1978 ;
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Sydney Theatre Company 'is committed to the engagement between the imagination of its artists and its audiences, to the development of the artform of theatre, and to excellence in all its endeavours.'

The STC's home venue is The Wharf on Sydney harbour and it is also the resident drama company of the Sydney Opera House Drama Theatre. In 2004, the STC opened its new 850-seat Sydney Theatre in Walsh Bay.

Artistic Directors of the STC have been Richard Wherrett (1978-1990), Wayne Harrison (1990-1999) and Robyn Nevin who took over in 1999.

(Source: STC website,

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2016 recipient Australia Council Grants, Awards and Fellowships Literature Board Grants Multi-Artform Collaborative Arts Projects - Organisations $49,000.00
Last amended 7 Feb 2017 16:17:48
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: