AustLit logo
Ben Peek Ben Peek i(A73880 works by)
Born: Established: 1976 Sydney, New South Wales, ;
Gender: Male
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

BiographyHistory

Ben Peek is a Sydney based author and teacher. His works have appeared in various speculative fiction and poetry anthologies including Agog!, Antipodean SF, 'Dragon Soup', 'The Goblin Market', 'The Mentor', Under Magellanic Clouds and Voiceworks.

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2005 shortlisted Ditmar Awards William Atheling Jr Award For a review of Haruki Murakami's work in the Urban Sprawl Project
2004 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Best New Talent

Awards for Works

Leviathan’s Blood 2016 single work novel fantasy

'At the end of The Godless, Mireea lay in ruins, the dead of the city had risen as ghosts, and the keepers Fo and Bau had been slain by Zaifyr.

'The Mireeans have now fled to the city of Yeflam with the immortal Zaifyr in chains to barter for their safety. With the threat of war arriving at the Floating Cities, Zaifyr's trial will become the center of political games. However, Zaifyr is intent on using his trial to begin a new war, a motive that many fear is an echo of the dangerous man he once was. Ayae, a young girl cursed with the gift of fire, sees a chance to learn more of her powers here in the floating city, but she is weighed down by her new responsibilities regarding the safety of the Mireean people.

'Across the far ocean, exiled Baron Bueralan and cartographer Orlan have arrived in the city of Ooila with some chilling cargo: the soul of a dead man. As the two men are accepted into the city's court, they are pulled ever deeper into the Queen's web of lies and deceit. All the while, a rumor begins to spread of a man who has come ashore, whose seemingly innocent presence threatens them all.' (Publication summary)

2017 longlisted The Gemmell Awards Legend Award
The Godless 2014 single work novel fantasy

'The Gods are dying. Fifteen thousand years after the end of their war, their bodies can still be found across the world. They kneel in forests, lie beneath mountains, and rest at the bottom of the world's ocean. For thousands of years, men and women have awoken with strange powers that are derived from their bodies.

'The city Mireea is built against a huge stone wall that stretches across a vast mountain range, following the massive fallen body of the god, Ger. Ayae, a young cartographer’s apprentice, is attacked and discovers she cannot be harmed by fire. Her new power makes her a target for an army that is marching on Mireea. With the help of Zaifyr, a strange man adorned with charms, she is taught the awful history of ‘cursed’ men and women, coming to grips with her new powers and the enemies they make. Meanwhile, the saboteur Bueralan infiltrates the army that is approaching her home to learn its terrible secret.

'Split between the three points of view, The Godless' narrative reaches its conclusion during an epic siege, where Ayae, Zaifyr and Bueralan are forced not just into conflict with those invading, but with those inside the city who wish to do them harm.

'The first installment of an exciting new epic fantasy series, The Godless is a fast-paced page turner set in an enthralling new world, perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Brent Weeks.' (Publication summary)

2015 shortlisted Ditmar Awards Best Novel
Black Betty Lone Star Stories , October no. 23 2007 single work short story mystery
2007 shortlisted Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Horror Division Best Short Story
Last amended 26 Jun 2014 13:48:55
Other mentions of "" in AustLit:
    X