AustLit logo
Legend Award
or David Gemmell Legend Award for Fantasy
Subcategory of International Awards The Gemmell Awards The Gemmell Awards Legend Award
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Legend Award, named after David Gemmell’s first and most popular novel, is presented to the fantasy title judged the year’s best by open vote.


  • The David Gemmell Award was inaugurated in 2008 and first presented in 2009 (for the year 2008). The award honours fantasy writer David Gemmell and nominated books must be in the fantasy genre and/or 'in the spirit or tradition of David Gemmell'.

    Nominations for the longlist are sought from editors working in the commercial genre fiction field. Public voting determines the shortlist and the award winner is chosen by a panel of genre experts.

    Source: David Gemmell Legend Award for Fantasy website,
    Sighted: 11/12/2008

Latest Winners / Recipients