AustLit logo
Robyn Williams Robyn Williams i(A63586 works by)
Born: Established: 1944
Wales (UK),
United Kingdom (UK),
Western Europe, Europe,
Gender: Male
Arrived in Australia: 1972
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Robyn Williams has been in charge of the ABC Radio Science Unit and host of The Science Show since 1975. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science (Honours) in England. He has served in a number of science related positions including as the President of the ANZAAS Congress in Brisbane and as Deputy Chair of the Commission For The Future.

In 1988, he received Honorary Doctorates in Science from the Universities of Deakin, Macquarie and Sydney. He was also awarded an AM in the Australian Bicentenary Honours list. Williams was elected as a Fellow member of the Australian Academy of Science in 1993 and in 1994, he took up a Reuters Fellowship at Oxford University.

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2020 recipient Order of Australia Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) For distinguished service to science as a journalist, radio presenter and author, and to education.
1997 Australian National Living Treasure
1993 recipient Australian Humanist of the Year Award
Last amended 27 Jan 2020 14:37:32
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: