AustLit logo
Australian National Living Treasure
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Australian National Living Treasures are people who have made outstanding contributions to Australian society in any field of human endeavour. In 1997 the National Trust of Australia (NSW) called for nominations from the public for 100 Australian Living Treasures and each nomination was counted as one vote. The nominees had to be living and had to have made a substantial and enduring contribution. The choice of those who were named as National Living Treasures was made via more than 10,000 Australians voting. Their votes determined who was chosen.


2012 Kylie Minogue
2012 Harry Butler
2004 Marie Bashir
2004 Jimmy Little
1998 Frank Brennan
1998 Raelene Boyle
1998 Pat O'Shane
1998 Galarrwuy Yunupingu
1997 John Bell
1997 Robyn Williams
1997 Barry Jones
1997 Elizabeth Jolley
1997 Robert Hughes
1997 Rolf Harris On 30 July 2014, the Board of the National Trust of Australia (New South Wales) voted to remove Harris from this list and withdraw his award, following his conviction.
1997 Tim Winton
1997 David Williamson
1997 Morris West
1997 Richard Tognetti
1997 Noel Pearson
1997 Lowitja O'Donoghue
1997 Les Murray
1997 Walter Mikac
1997 Colleen McCullough
1997 David Malouf
1997 Michael Leunig
1997 Leonie Kramer
1997 Barry Humphries
1997 Donald Horne
1997 Germaine Greer
1997 Slim Dusty
1997 Geoffrey Blainey
1997 Faith Bandler
1997 Phillip Adams
1997 Judith Wright
1997 Thomas Keneally
1997 Ernie Dingo
1997 Charles Perkins