Steven Carroll Steven Carroll i(A31183 works by) (a.k.a. Steve Carroll)
Born: Established: 1949 Melbourne, Victoria, ;
Gender: Male
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit


Steven Carroll studied at La Trobe University and taught English in secondary schools before playing in bands during the 1970s. He later turned his attention to playwriting and became a lecturer at RMIT. Carroll has been the theatre critic for the Sunday Age (Melbourne).

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2012 Australia Council Grants, Awards and Fellowships Literature Board Fellowship $100,000 for fiction.
2009 recipient Australia Council Grants, Awards and Fellowships Three month residency at Cite Internationale des Arts, Paris, 1 February 3 May 2010
2005 Literature Board Grants Grants for Established Writers $25,000 for fiction.

Awards for Works

Forever Young 2015 single work novel

'The latest novel by acclaimed novelist Steven Carroll, winner of the Prime Minister's Award and the Miles Franklin Award.

'And is nostalgia not so much a longing for a place or a time, as a longing for youth itself?'

'Forever Young is set against the tumultuous period of change and uncertainty that was Australia in 1977. Whitlam is about to lose the federal election, and things will never be the same again. the times they are a'changing. Radicals have become conservatives, idealism is giving way to realism, relationships are falling apart, and Michael is finally coming to accept that he will never be a rock and roll musician.

'A subtle and graceful exploration of the passage of time and our yearning for the seeming simplicities of the past, Forever Young is a powerfully moving work - clear. beautiful, affecting - by one of our greatest authors.

'Carroll ... transmutes the grey facts of daily life into light and luminous art.' Geordie Williamson, the Australian.' (Publication summary)

2017 longlisted International Awards International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
2016 shortlisted Victorian Premier's Literary Awards The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction
2016 shortlisted Prime Minister's Literary Awards Fiction
A World of Other People 2013 single work novel historical fiction 'Set in 1941 during the Blitz, A World of Other People traces the love affair of Jim, an Australian pilot in Bomber Command, and Iris, a forthright Englishwoman finding her voice as a writer.The young couple, haunted by secrets and malign coincidence, struggles to build a future free of society's thin-lipped disapproval. The poet T.S. Eliot, with whom Iris shares firewatching duties, unwittingly seals their fate with his poem 'Little Gidding', one of the famous Four Quartets.' (Publisher's blurb)
2014 joint winner Prime Minister's Literary Awards Fiction With Richard Flanagan's The Narrow Road to the Deep North.
2014 shortlisted Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature Award for Fiction
Spirit of Progress 2011 single work novel 'The thing that makes you, it never goes

A sleek high-speed train glides silently through the French countryside, bearing Michael, an Australian writer, and his travelling world of memory and speculation.

Melbourne, 1946, calls to him: the pressure cooker of the city during World War II has produced a small creative miracle, and at this pivotal moment the lives of his newly married parents, a group of restless artists, a proud old woman with a tent for a home, a journalist, a gallery owner, a farmer and a factory developer irrevocably intersect. And all the while the Spirit of Progress, the locomotive of the new age, roars through their lives like time′s arrow, pointing to the future and the post-war world only some of them will enter.' (Publisher's blurb)
2013 longlisted International Awards International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
2012 longlisted Miles Franklin Literary Award
Last amended 25 Feb 2015 16:48:30
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: