AustLit logo
Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal
Subcategory of Mildura Writers' Festival Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal is awarded each year to a consistently outstanding Australian writer. It is given as part of the Mildura Writers' Festival, which Hodgins (1959-1995) helped to found in 1994. The medal, which comes with a cash prize, was established to honour Hodgins's memory and was first awarded in 1997. Hodgins was a critically acclaimed, award-winning Australian poet, whose work appeared in publications such as The New Yorker.


2020 winner Paul Carter
2019 winner Helen Garner
2018 winner David Malouf
2017 winner Peter Boyle
2016 winner Jan Owen
2015 winner Anthony Lawrence
2014 winner Lisa Gorton
2013 winner Frank Moorhouse
2012 winner Robert Gray
2011 winner Gail Jones
2010 winner Don Watson
2009 winner Peter Steele
2008 winner Sonya Hartnett
2007 winner Inga Clendinnen
2006 winner Stephen Edgar
2005 winner Judith Beveridge
2004 winner Luke Davies
2003 winner Clive James
2002 winner Chris Wallace-Crabbe
2001 winner Carmel Bird
2000 winner Peter Porter
1999 winner Alan Gould
1998 winner Kate Jennings
1997 winner Bruce Dawe