AustLit logo
The University of Queensland The University of Queensland i(A38271 works by) (Organisation) assertion (a.k.a. UQ; University of Queensland)
Born: Established: 1909 ;
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Established through a 1909 Act of State Parliament, The University of Queensland was the first university in the state and was officially founded on April 16, 1910, with the gazettal of appointments to the first UQ Senate. Teaching started in 1911 in Old Government House in George Street, Brisbane. 

'Construction started on the St Lucia site in 1937 and the first building, later named the Forgan Smith Building after the Premier of the day, was completed in 1939. During World War II, it became the advanced headquarters for the Allied Land Forces in the South West Pacific.

'In 1990, the University merged with the Queensland Agricultural College at (now Gatton), 80 kilometres west of Brisbane, resulting in the union of the two oldest higher education institutions in the State and producing a substantial increase in enrolments.'

Source: UQ website.

Most Referenced Works


  • To see which works of Australian literature have been taught at The University of Queensland since 2006 go to the Teaching Aust. Lit. resource.
Last amended 8 Aug 2019 10:50:00
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: