AustLit logo
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Part of the Aurealis Awards, the Peter McNamara Convenors’ Award for Excellence is awarded at the discretion of the convenors for a particular achievement in speculative fiction or related areas in that year. This award may take into account a body of work or achievements over a number of years; it can also be for a work of non-fiction, artwork, electronic or multimedia work, or that which brings credit or attention to the speculative fiction genres.

The award was originally known as The Convenors' Award for Excellence and was renamed in 2002 after Peter McNamara (1947-2004), publisher, editor and the original Aurealis Awards convenor, shortly after he was diagnosed with a terminal illness.

Source: Sighted: 29/11/2013.


2016 winner Rowena Cory Daniells For lifetime achievement.
2012 winner Kate Eltham
2012 winner Bill Congreve
2011 joint winner A.I. Finch For the Galactic Suburbia podcast.
2011 joint winner Tansy Rayner Roberts For the Galactic Suburbia podcast.
2011 joint winner Alisa Krasnostein For the Galactic Suburbia podcast.
2010 winner Helen Merrick
2009 winner Sean Williams
2008 winner Jack Dann
2007 winner Terry Dowling A personal award for Rynemonn, Dowling's final book in the Adventures of Tom Rynosseros series.
2007 winner Shaun Tan
2006 winner Bill Congreve
2005 winner Grant Stone
2004 winner Cat Sparks
2003 winner Nick Stathopoulos For his body of work in illustration.
2002 winner Robbie Matthews For his important contribution to local genre publishing with The Canberra Speculative Fiction Guild and 'Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine'.
2001 joint winner y separately published work icon The Deltora Book of Monsters The Deltora Book of Monsters : By Josef, Palace Librarian in the Reign of King Alton Emily Rodda , Marc McBride (illustrator), Sydney : Scholastic Australia , 2001 Z970894 2001 single work picture book children's adventure fantasy Contains information about monsters and creatures, including the stories behind their creation and creators, from the Deltora Quest series.
2001 joint winner Deltora Quest Deltora Quest [1] Emily Rodda , 2000 series - author children's fiction children's fantasy

Deltora Quest follows the adventures Lief, Barda and Jasmine as they journey across the fictitious land of Deltora, endeavoring to recover the magical belt of Deltora and defeat allies of the evil Shadow Lord.