Picture courtesy Random House.
Kate Forsyth Kate Forsyth i(A30634 works by)
Also writes as: Kate Humphrey
Born: Established: 1966 Sydney, ;
Gender: Female
Heritage: Scottish
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit


Kate Forsyth completed a BA in Literature at Macquarie University and an MA in Writing at the University of Western Sydney, and a PhD at the University of Sydney.. She worked as a journalist while studying and writing. Forsyth was president of the Poets' Union for two years and has had poetry published in Australia, Denmark and the USA. She is the author of children's fiction and fantasy novels.

Forsyth is the sister of Belinda Murrell. They are direct descendants of Charlotte Barton.

Most Referenced Works

Awards for Works

The Rebirth of Rapunzel : A Mythic Biography of the Maiden in the Tower 2016 selected work criticism essay

'A unique collection presenting Kate Forsyth’s extensive academic research into the ‘Rapunzel’ fairy tale, alongside several other pieces related to fairy tales and folklore.

'This book is not your usual reference work, but a complex and engaging exploration of the subject matter, written with Forsyth’s distinctive flair.' (Publication summary)

2017 winner Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Convenors' Award
2017 winner Ditmar Awards William Atheling Jr Award
Escape from Wolfhaven Castle 2014 single work children's fiction children's fantasy

'Tell your lord to beware, the wolves smell danger in the wind.

'Wolfhaven Castle has been attacked, and only four escape capture ... Tom, trained to scrub pots, not fight; Elanor, the Lords daughter; Sebastian, a knight in training and Quinn, the witchs apprentice.

'Somehow, if they are to save their people, these unlikely heroes must find four magical beasts from legend. But first, they have to make it out of the castle alive...

'Best-selling, award-winning storyteller, Kate Forsyth, weaves battles, beasts and bravery in this epic new five-book series.' (Publication summary)

2017 shortlisted YABBA Fiction for Older Readers
Bitter Greens 2012 single work novel historical fiction 'Charlotte-Rose de la Force has been banished from court by the Sun King, Louis XIV, after a series of scandalous love affairs. She is comforted by an old nun, Sœur Seraphina, who tells her the tale of a young girl who, a hundred years earlier, is sold by her parents for a handful of Bitter Greens ...

'After Margherita's father steals a handful of greens - parsley, wintercress and rapunzel - from the walled garden of the courtesan, Selena Leonelli, they give up their daughter to save him from having both hands cut off. Selena is the famous red-haired muse of the artist Tiziano, first painted by him in 1513 and still inspiring him at the time of his death, sixty-one years later. Called La Strega Bella, Selena is at the centre of Renaissance life in Venice, a world of beauty and danger, seduction and betrayal, love and superstition.

'Locked away in a tower, growing to womanhood, Margherita sings in the hope someone will hear her. One day, a young man does ...

'Three women, three lives, three stories, braided together to create a compelling story of desire, obsession, black magic, and the redemptive power of love.' (From the publisher's website.)
2013 Norma K. Hemming Award Honourable mention
2012 shortlisted Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Fantasy Division Best Novel
Last amended 15 May 2015 11:53:06
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: