AustLit logo
Nancy Keesing Fellowship
Subcategory of State Library of New South Wales Fellowships
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Nancy Keesing AM Fellowship, honouring key Australian literary figure, author and poet Nancy Keesing AM (1923-1993), was established by her husband, Dr Mark Hertzberg AO (1924–2015), past President of the Library Council of New South Wales.' (


2019 winner Kate Forsyth for her project: Charlotte Atkinson: Australia’s first children’s writer.
2018 winner Neil James for his project: The A&R Century: A history of Angus and Robertson
2016 winner Anne Jamison for her project: "The enjoyment of a good story": Gender and Australian national identity in Catherine Helen Spence's literature for Children
2014 winner Blake Singley for his project: Selling the Modern Housewife: Cookbooks, gender and consumption in Australia.
2010 winner Roger Osborne

for his project: A Material and Textual Story of Joseph Furphy's "Such is Life": towards an electronic edition of an Australian classic

2009 winner Valerie Lawson for her project: A History of Dance in Australia: from 1926 to the present day
2007 winner Roderick J. Fensham

for his project: The Leichhardt Diaries: developing the geographical and historical context of the diaries, 1842-1844

2005 winner Brooke Collins-Gearing For research entitled Tiddas and daughters discourses in Austrailian literature.
2004 Jill Julius Matthews For research on Hidden treasures of the Mitchell Library: Sydney periodicals 1900-1930.
2003 winner Jeannine Baker

for her project: Australian Women War Correspondents: from World War One to Vietnam

2002 Caroline Viera Jones For research on George Robertson and his contribution to national cultural identity.
2001 Maria Nugent For work on Europeans and Aborigines and Botany Bay
2000 Patty O'Brien To research post-WW II colonial attitudes in Papua-New Guinea.
1999 Sonia Mycak To study the role of Angus & Robertson in the formation of a national body of literature in Australia.
1997 Elaine Van Kempen To undertake research for a book on the new theatre as an important element in Australian cultural history
1996 winner R. S. Bhathal

for his project: A Biography of the Nineteenth-Century Astronomer John Tebbutt

1995 winner Jennifer Hill

for her project: A Review, Assessment and Survey of Architectural Plans at the State Library of New South Wales

1994 inaugural winner Meg Stewart

for her project: An Overview of the Literary  Papers of Nancy Keesing and a New Compilation of Poems