AustLit logo
y separately published work icon Field of Mars series - author   novella  
Issue Details: First known date: 2015... 2015 Field of Mars
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Includes

1
y separately published work icon Field of Mars : Episode I David A. Rollins , Sydney : Pan Macmillan Australia , 2015 8866843 2015 single work novella historical fiction

'Marcus Licinius Crassus's lust for gold and glory was legendary. What became of his army is myth.

'In Crassus the tyrant, Rufinius the soldier, Appias the historian, Mena the hag and Lucia the Golden Whore, David Rollins brings to life a mystery that has plagued historians for centuries. The only constant in this world is Mars, the god of war, and who he will favour is anyone's guess.

'Desperate to write himself into the pages of history, proconsul Marcus Licinius Crassus marched 40,000 Roman legionaries into the heart of the Parthian empire. More than 10,000 were never seen or heard from again.

'In a story that spans empires and generations, this vanished army's fate is finally unveiled. From the streets of Rome to the deserts of ancient Iran, around the globe into the heart of an empire vaster than anything Rome ever imagined, a young Alexandrian soldier is borne on the tides of the age of empires from soldier of Rome to slave of Babylon to commander of armies.

'Perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden, this sweeping historical thriller takes the reader on an epic journey across ancient empires and into the unknown stories of myth and legend.' (Publication summary)

2
y separately published work icon Field of Mars : Episode II David A. Rollins , Sydney : Pan Macmillan Australia , 2015 8866906 2015 single work novella historical fiction

'Defeat does not come easily to a soldier.

'In the wake of an epic battle with the Parthian empire, Proconsul Crassus's Roman army faces a crisis the likes of which Rome has never known. Centurion Rufinius, one of the few surviving officers, must ensure safe passage for his army and himself.

'Facing turncoats within the ranks and temptation from a mysterious beauty promised to the king of a distant empire, Rufinius must fight for his life and for love. In cold-blooded slavers' pits and on bended knee before foreign generals, Rufinius will do anything to renew his men's faith in themselves.

'Tested from within and without, Rufinius must learn to lead his men at a time when there is no best option. The first battle that must be fought is one of wills. And on the outcome will hinge the fate of empires.' (Publication summary)

3
y separately published work icon Field of Mars : Episode III David A. Rollins , Sydney : Pan Macmillan Australia , 2015 8866946 2015 single work novella historical fiction

'Even a soldier fears to march into a land his gods have never known.

'Struggling to believe that the horizons stretch so far, Centurion Rufinius leads the remains of Crassus's Roman army ever eastward.

'His passion for Lucia intensifying, and his conflict with his own men reaching breaking point, Rufinius must demonstrate to his men and to General Saikan that he can repair this broken army.

'Kept imprisoned in a wagon, the Golden Whore Lucia presents Rufinius and the hag Mena with an opportunity, but with it comes a risk that could kill them both.

'Should he prevail, this peril will not be Rufinius's last. He and his men must yet answer the call of the horizon, beyond which a vast empire awaits, rich with incalculable spoils.' (Publication summary)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 2015
Last amended 3 Sep 2015 10:07:25
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X