AustLit logo
[Essay] : Five Bells single work   essay  
Issue Details: First known date: 2013... 2013 [Essay] : Five Bells
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Gail Jones’ fifth novel, Five Bells, is many things: a love letter to Sydney and its physical beauty; a deeply moving exploration of the effects of grief and loss; and, perhaps most importantly, a luminous and shimmering reflection on time, memory and mortality. Yet like all of Jones’ novels, Five Bells is also a remarkably intricate creation: a highly sophisticated, thrillingly allusive web of implication in which a wide range of literary and cultural references are woven together, reinforcing and counterpointing each other in fascinating and often surprising ways.' (Introduction)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

  • Appears in:
    y separately published work icon Reading Australia Sydney : Reading Australia , 2013- 6495537 2013 website

    'Copyright Agency has developed Reading Australia to make significant Australian literary works more readily available for teaching in schools and universities. These works are being supplemented with online teacher resources and essays by popular authors about the enduring relevance of the works.'

    Source: Reading Australia ( (Sighted: 8/10/2013)

    AustLit is providing a series of curated trails for the Reading Australia project. They can be viewed here.

    Sydney : Reading Australia , 2013-
Last amended 25 May 2017 11:44:12 [Essay] : Five Bellssmall AustLit logo