AustLit logo
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


1982 Civil Merval Hoare
1981 Dulcie Stone MBE awarded for services to people with intellectual disabilities.
1981 Connie Bush For services to Aboriginal women.
1981 Civil Dennis K. Lillee Cricket
1981 Marjorie Tipping
1980 Civil Ken Colbung In recognition of service to the Aboriginal community.
1978 for Service to Literature Eve Pownall
1978 David Burrumarra
1976 Frank Korbl for outstanding dedication and loyalty.
1976 Ossie Cruse
1976 Hal Richardson ARMY - Newspaper Unit - Postwar Honours List.
1975 Ilma Lever
1974 Alexander James Burke
1974 Hilarie Lindsay
1972 Evonne Cawley
1972 Civil Babette Stephens
1972 Clive Sansom For services to Literature and Education
1971 Dadaynga Marika
1971 Yirawala
1971 Reg Saunders
1971 Gladys Elphick
1970 Member (Civil) Slim Dusty
1970 Harry Butler
1969 Civil Pauline Fanning In recognition of service to the Chief Reference Librarian at the National Library
1968 Rolf Harris This honour was revoked in March 2015, following Harris's conviction.
1968 Civil Flora Stella George In recognition of service to the poor and the aged.
1968 Civil Eileen Heath Welfare Officer in the NT Administration
1968 Margaret Tucker
1967 Services to radio entertainment Gwen Meredith
1966 Betty Paterson For services to art & the community, as Mrs Elizabeth Deans Wiltshire
1965 The Order of the British Empire - Member (Civil) Beatrice Davis literature
1965 Margaret Somerville Citation reads: Welfare of part-Aboriginal children
1964 Lu Rees For services to literature.
1964 Sadie Canning
1955 John Landy
1947 Member (Military) Dudley McCarthy
1945 Member (Military) Frank Fenner For Army - Distinguished service in the SW Pacific
1939 J. L. Ranken for charities in New South Wales
1934 Kathleen Mary Clutterbuck
11 CE Shirley Perry Smith