AustLit logo
Geraldine Pascall Prize for Critical Writing
or Pascall Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Pascall Prize: Australian 'Critic of the Year'is an annual Australian award for critical writing and review, awarded to a critic whose work over the previous 12 to 18 months has contributed significantly to public appreciation, enjoyment and understanding of the area or areas of the arts in which he or she is involved.[1] It was established in 1988 in memory of Geraldine Pascall, an Australian journalist who died of a stroke at the age of 38.' 


2014 winner James Ley
2013 winner (Critic of the Year) Kerryn Goldsworthy
2012 James Bradley
2011 winner Geordie Williamson
2010 winner Mark Mordue
2009 Alison Croggon $15,000
2007 Paul Byrnes
2006 winner Robert Forster
2005 winner Gerard Windsor
2004 winner Peter Craven
2003 winner Julie Rigg
2001 winner Elizabeth Farrelly
2000 winner Robert Nelson
1999 winner A. P. Riemer
1998 winner Andrew Ford
1997 winner Adrian Martin
1996 winner Bruce Elder
1995 winner John McCallum
1994 winner Sandra Hall
1993 joint winner Roger Covell
1992 winner Alan Saunders
1991 winner Joanna Mendelssohn
1990 winner y separately published work icon Eat My Words Marion Halligan , Marion Halligan (illustrator), North Ryde : Angus and Robertson , 1990 Z973981 1990 single work prose
1990 winner Marion Halligan
1988 David Malouf Malouf won inaugural prize when it was known as the Pascall Prize and initiated as a biennial literary award for creative writers who have made original and distinctive contributions to Australia's cultural life. In 1990 the award became annual and awarded to a critic of the arts and aspects of culture.