AustLit logo
or Young Australians Best Book Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Young Australians Best Book Awards (YABBA) were established in 1985 by a group of Victorians keen to see children engage in reading Australian books.’ The awards ‘seek to provide children a voice within the general Australian children’s book industry.'

The awards encourage children 'to read recent Australian published books, rate them against all others and then finally reward that book they feel is best ... Our final goal is that whilst engaging children in this process, the wider children’s book industry hears the voice of the very people they are writing for – the children! We facilitate this message delivery through the connection of authors and illustrators to the children via shortlist announcement and the annual awards ceremony.’

The shortlist (the REAL Awards) for the awards is provided by the Children's Book Council of Australia.

Source: ‘About YABBA.’ YABBA website:

Sighted: 06/11/2013

Winners (also see subcategories)v1494