AustLit logo
David Harold Tribe Fiction Award
or David Harold Tribe Fiction Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The David Harold Tribe Fiction Award encourages fiction writing and promotes interest in Australian fiction generally. It is open to writers nationwide.

The Prize is presented for an original unpublished work of fiction, made possible by a gift to The University of Sydney by David Tribe to promote Australian fiction. 

The prize is work $12,000, and offered every five years. The next award will be in 2024.


2019 joint winner Katherine Brabon
2019 joint winner Claire Aman
2014 winner Picasso : A Shorter Life John Scott , 2014 single work short story
— Appears in: Southerly , vol. 74 no. 3 2014; (p. 183-186) The Best Australian Stories 2015 2015; (p. 21-32)
2009 inaugural winner Theobald, Tailor Patrick Mountford , 2010 single work short story
— Appears in: Southerly , vol. 70 no. 1 2010; (p. 91-97)