AustLit logo
y separately published work icon Truly Tan series - author   children's fiction   children's   detective   mystery  
Alternative title: Tan Callahan's Secret Spy Files
Issue Details: First known date: 2008... 2008 Truly Tan
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

A series about a girl who moves from the city to the country and fancies herself as a spy.

Includes

1
y separately published work icon The Mystery of the Purple Haunt Truly Tan Jen Storer , Camberwell : Puffin , 2008 Z1547395 2008 single work children's fiction children's detective mystery Tan Callahan and her family are moving to the country where there is a new school to fit into, new friends to be made and a number of mysteries to be solved. The text includes drawings, decorations, notes and Tan's diary entries.
2
y separately published work icon Jinxed! Jen Storer , Pymble : ABC Books , 2013 Z1913172 2013 single work children's fiction children's 'Great Detective Tan Callahan is back and this time she must crack the case of the haunted tram. It's a job that is truly...mysterious.' (Publisher's blurb)
3
y separately published work icon Spooked! Jen Storer , Sydney : HarperCollins , 2013 Z1935605 2013 single work children's fiction children's detective mystery

'Tan and the Chosen Few have another mystery on their hands... The 'stonies' (stone animal statues) around Peppercorn Valley have been mysteriously disappearing. But who would steal them? What could the thief want with a stone emu or flamingo? This mystery is truly baffling! It's a good thing Tan has the mind of a Great Detective... A brilliant chapter series for fans of Alice-Miranda, Judy Moody and The Famous Five. Ages: 8-12' (Publisher's blurb)

4
y separately published work icon Freaked! Truly Tan Jen Storer , Australia : ABC Books , 2014 8630184 2014 single work children's fiction children's mystery

'Tan Callahan, Great Detective, is back in a series that has been described as 'interesting, exciting and excellent!' Tan has never been fond of the old machinery shed. It's dusty and airless, full of dark secrets and bad memories. There's a mountain of junk in there too, broken chairs, sideboards, couches, books and overcoats. But worse still is the creepy portrait of an unnamed little girl. She has cold, dark eyes and a gloomy face. And if the girl isn't scary enough the china doll she's holding looks downright malicious. Tan vows to avoid the shed and the portrait at all costs. But when Great Aunt Aggie comes to stay, Tan discovers there's a whole lot more to the portrait than she ever imagined. There's a whole lot more to Great Aunt Aggie, too.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

5
y separately published work icon Hoodwinked! Truly Tan Jen Storer , Sydney South : HarperCollins , 2016 9015395 2016 single work children's fiction children's detective mystery

'The next adventure in the best-selling Truly Tan series. Ages: 8-12 Verity Crisp's cousin has come to Peppercorn Valley. Her name is Ophelia Crisp, she is nearly ten and she has messy hair. She is also sullen, secretive and shrouded in mystery. Before long Tan has reasons to suspect that Ophelia is a thief. But a Secret Spy should never jump to conclusions, so Tan sets out to build Ophelia's profile - and discover once and for all if she is a criminal. Tan's investigations lead her deeper into the secret life of Ophelia Crisp and, when Ophelia disappears, it is up to Tan to piece the clues together and find her before it is too late. Ages: 8 +' ' (Publication summary)

6
y separately published work icon Trapped! Jen Storer , Camberwell : Puffin , 2017 11475623 2017 single work children's fiction children's

'Way out in the country, Mrs Topple is Tan's closest neighbour. But Mrs Topple has gone on a cruise and Tan is in charge of security at the Topple cottage.

'Tan is also looking after the garden and watering the plants. But mostly she's in charge of security. Which is just as well because something suspicious is going on.

'A strange car has been coming and going and a shadowy figure has been spotted snooping around. And now Tan has noticed items moving around in the garden - on their own!

'As tensions mount, Tan decides a stake-out is in order. Little does she know she is walking straight into a trap.' (Publication summary)

7
y separately published work icon Baffled! Jen Storer , Sydney : ABC Books , 2018 14510495 2018 single work children's fiction children's mystery

'It is winter in Peppercorn Valley and Tan and her very best friend Gloria go to a bonfire. At school. At night.They also go on a lantern walk and spy on Journeys End.

'Journeys End is the creepiest house in Peppercorn Valley. And the old ladies who live there have painted weird symbols all over the outside walls.

'What could the symbols mean? And is the house haunted and if so, are the old ladies in danger?

'Tan has a hunch they are, but this mystery is complicated and she is baffled!'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 2008
    • Camberwell, Camberwell - Kew area, Melbourne - Inner South, Melbourne, Victoria,: Puffin , 2008- .

Works about this Work

A Life of Adventure Karen Hardy , 2013 single work review
— Appears in: The Canberra Times , 3 February 2013; (p. 26)

— Review of Truly Tan Jen Storer , 2008 series - author children's fiction
Truly Tan by Jen Storer Anastasia Gonis , 2012 single work review
— Appears in: Buzz Words , December 2012;

— Review of Truly Tan Jen Storer , 2008 series - author children's fiction
A Life of Adventure Karen Hardy , 2013 single work review
— Appears in: The Canberra Times , 3 February 2013; (p. 26)

— Review of Truly Tan Jen Storer , 2008 series - author children's fiction
Truly Tan by Jen Storer Anastasia Gonis , 2012 single work review
— Appears in: Buzz Words , December 2012;

— Review of Truly Tan Jen Storer , 2008 series - author children's fiction
Last amended 17 Jul 2017 09:35:30
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X