AustLit logo


y separately published work icon Ructions at Ranford single work   children's fiction   children's  
Is part of The Ranford Series David Britten , Paul White , 1961 series - author children's fiction
Issue Details: First known date: 1961... 1961 Ructions at Ranford
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'This second volume in the Ranford Series continues the adventures of the boys of Ranford School. Once again we meet Dick Hardy, Horsey and Cowie, and those untiring and unfortunate villain , the Sweet Peas!

'What did happen to Doug Sherwood's lace? Who discovered the Sweet Pea's [sic] guilty secret? Who "pickled his internal workings"? and with what? You can find the answers to these and many other interesting questions in this fast-moving tale.

'But the story centres around Horsey, the poetic, music-loving, somewhat gauche companion of Cowie. His love for music leads him to form an acquaintance with Dr Norton, and he is this introduced to the Great Composer, and learns to recognise His claims on his life. Despite a miserable failure to emulate Jim Hardy as a champion runner, he eventually discovers his own hidden talent in a totally unexpected and thrilling climax to the story.' (Inside dust jacket)


  • Book two of the Ranford Series.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Alternative title: Katkenneen kengan-nauhan salaisuus
Language: Finnish
Last amended 22 Jul 2022 12:50:32
    Powered by Trove