AustLit logo
y separately published work icon Great Australian Writers [Vol. 1] anthology   novel   autobiography  
Issue Details: First known date: 1987... 1987 Great Australian Writers [Vol. 1]
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


  • Comprises 2 volumes.


* Contents derived from the London,
United Kingdom (UK),
Western Europe, Europe,
Octopus Publishing Group , 1987 version. Please note that other versions/publications may contain different contents. See the Publication Details.
I Can Jump Puddles, Alan Marshall , 1955 single work autobiography
I Can Jump Puddles is Alan Marshall's story of his childhood, a happy world in which, despite his crippling poliomyelitis, he plays, climbs, fights, swims, rides and laughs. His world was the Australian countryside early last century: rough-riders, bushmen, farmers and tellers of tall stories, a world held precious by the young Alan Marshall. (Source: Trove)
Wake in Fright, Kenneth Cook , 1961 single work novel

Wake in Fright is the harrowing story of a young schoolteacher, John Grant, who leaves his isolated outback school to go on holidays to Sydney (and civilization). Things start to go horribly wrong, however, when stays overnight in a rough outback mining town called Bundanyabba. After a drink fuelled night, in which he loses all his momey, Grant finds himself both broke and stuck in the town with means of escape. He subsequently descends into a cycle of hangovers, fumbling sexual encounters, and increasing self-loathing as he becomes more and more immersed in the grotesque and surreal nightmare that is 'the Yabba.'

The Fringe Dwellers, Nene Gare , 1961 single work novel

The Fringe Dwellers is set in a remote area of Western Australia. It is the story of Noonah and Trilby, two  sisters of Aboriginal decent, who live in a family camp on the fringe of  society.  


The Breaker : A Novel, Kit Denton , 1973 single work novel historical fiction
There was a Breaker Morant - he was executed at Pretoria on 27 February 1902. His crime? Wilful murder of civilians. Yet to this day his guilt remains in doubt. Kit Denton's novel, The Breaker, does more than recount the facts and mystery surrounding Morant's death sentence. Full of action and set in three continents, it covers the entire range of the Breaker's activities. We see him as a champion horseman, a likeable larrikin, a popular balladist. We see him in love and in war. Then we see him face the firing squad that will end his life. Was he a cold-blooded killer or a scapegoat? Based on a true story.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 29 Apr 2009 12:00:09
    Powered by Trove