AustLit logo
image of person or book cover 904239026648009291.jpg
This image has been sourced from online.
y separately published work icon The Murderer's Apprentice single work   children's fiction   children's   fantasy  
Issue Details: First known date: 2005... 2005 The Murderer's Apprentice
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Like her father and mother before her, Merrith is apprenticed to become an assassin with the Murderers' Guild. But Merrith is hopeless with a dagger and sword, inept at mixing poison, and doesn't like the idea of killing people anyway. Then a prophecy from the Soothsayers' Guild says Merrith must join an expedition to the rift caves, or Quentaris will be destroyed. Can Merrith save Quentaris - even if it means she must become a professional murderer?'

Source: The Quentaris Chronicles website,
Sighted: 13/07/2005

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

    • South Melbourne, South Melbourne - Port Melbourne area, Melbourne - Inner South, Melbourne, Victoria,: Lothian , 2005 .
      image of person or book cover 904239026648009291.jpg
      This image has been sourced from online.
      Extent: 160p.
      ISBN: 0734408005
      Series: y separately published work icon The Quentaris Chronicles Lothian (publisher), Michael Pryor (editor), Paul Collins (editor), 2003-2007 Z1038822 2003 series - publisher children's fiction children's fantasy

      The Quentaris Chronicles is a fantasy series set in the magical city of Quentaris. A thriving, bustling city at the mouth of the Great River where it runs into the Lonely Sea, Quentaris is nestled against the Rift Cliffs, the source of the city's wealth and the object of much envy from the neighbouring city states of Hadran, Simesian, Tolrush, and Brunt. The Rift Cliffs contain the rift caves, a network of unknown numbers of caves. Inside these caves are the myterious rifts, shifting gaps in the fabric of the world of Quentaris. These rifts lead to other worlds, and are eagerly explored by adventurers and merchants, eager for riches and trade. Too often, however, they find danger and peril, but to risk all is to win much!

      The series comprises individual, stand-alone books by different writers, with the overall concept managed by Michael Pryor and Paul Collins. Each of the stories tells of this city of infinite variety. Full of magic, mystery, and adventure, they explore Quentaris and its people and brings to you stories of peril and triumph, quests and discoveries, heroes and villains.

Last amended 10 Sep 2014 15:52:39