y Threepenny Dreams single work   novel   historical fiction  
Is part of The Irish Sisters Anna Jacobs 2003 series - author novel (number 3 in series)
Issue Details: First known date: 2004... 2004 Threepenny Dreams
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'1863: Recently widowed, Hannah Firth is still young enough to dream of a new life, but her spiteful daughter-in-law wants to use her as an unpaid servant. When Hannah tries to leave, Patty’s malice puts her in a dreadful position, from which she can only escape by going back to act as a servant in her son’s household. It’s a miserable life and she’s determined to escape.

'Nathaniel King’s life is ruined when his landlord’s son lays waste to his market garden for a prank. The shock kills his invalid wife and leaves him with a young son to raise. But the resulting feud puts not only Nathaniel’s livelihood at stake, but his home.

'Eventually Hannah manages to escape, but has only a few coins and her dreams of a happier future to sustain her as she tramps the roads and tries to evade pursuit. When she meets Nathaniel, the attraction between them cannot be denied and they join forces. But their enemies have money and powerful allies on their side and will stop at nothing to get rid of them . . .'

Source: Publisher's blurb.


  • Author's note: Threepenny Dreams is a linked story to A Pennyworth of Sunshine and Twopenny Rainbows but is not a sequel.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 13 Jan 2014 09:47:55
  • 1860s
    Powered by Trove