7303008742423988539.jpg
Colonial Australian Popular Fiction Digital Archive
y Fugitive Anne : A Romance of the Unexplored Bush single work   novel   adventure   science fiction  
Issue Details: First known date: 1903... 1903 Fugitive Anne : A Romance of the Unexplored Bush
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Anne Bedo is unhappily married. Her husband, Elias, is an abusive drunk who cruelly mistreats her, and she decides she can't take it any more. While traveling by ship, Anne decides to make her escape. Making it appear as though she has gone mad and thrown herself overboard, she instead disembarks in disguise with her friend, the Aboriginal youth Kombo. Anne and Kombo venture through dangerous, unexplored country, braving the murderous tribes and cannibals, as she seeks to put distance between herself and her persecutor. During her travels, she meets up with Danish explorer Eric Hansen, and together, they make an astonishing discovery. Deep in the Australian wilderness lives a tribe of "Red Men," the Aca, part of the ancient Mayan race. Can Anne, Eric, and Kombo survive the myriad threats posed by savage cannibals, the Aca's "Death-Stone," and the vengeance of Elias Bedo? A "lost race" adventure novel in the tradition of H. Rider Haggard, Rosa Praed's "Fugitive Anne" (1902) also confronts important issues of the day, including colonialism and the difficulties faced by women trapped in bad marriages.'

Source: Publisher's blurb (Valancourt edition).

Notes

  • A 'lost race' romance.
  • Other formats: Also e-book.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Works about this Work

Untitled single work review
— Review of Fugitive Anne : A Romance of the Unexplored Bush Rosa Praed 1903 single work novel
Imperial Affairs : The British Empire and the Romantic Novel, 1890–1939 Hsu-Ming Teo , 2016 single work criticism
— Appears in: New Directions in Popular Fiction : Genre, Distribution, Reproduction 2016; (p. 87-110)

The British romantic novel became a distinct and bestselling genre during the mid-nineteenth century, when Charlotte M. Yonge’s The Heir of Redclyffe (1853) inspired other authors to write thrilling love stories published in triple-decker volumes that were sold at W.H. Smith railway bookstalls or circulated through 'Charles Mudie’s Select Library (Anderson 1974, p. 25). Women writers during this time, such as Yonge, Rhoda Broughton and Mary Elizabeth Braddon, popularised stories that featured the trials and tribulations of British heroes and heroines who fall in love, overcome various obstacles to their relationship, marry or are tragically parted by death (Anderson 1974). Most of their novels are set in Britain or, for more exotic fare, the Continent. However, from the 1890s onwards, they were joined by women writers from Britain’s colonies and dominions. This period was the zenith of British imperial power and, unsurprisingly, women writers used the colonies as exotic backdrops for their love stories. Romantic novels from the 1890s to the Second World War spread imperial fantasies of women who travelled to the colonies, hunted, worked as governesses, nurses and secretaries, managed households, ran viable plantations, fended off attacks by ‘the natives’, fell in love, married and made a place for themselves in the empire. Dreams of love and empire building bloomed in what I am calling women’s imperial romantic novels: love stories set in India, the white settler colonies and dominions, and Saharan and sub-Saharan Africa in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.' (Publication summary)

Britishness and Australian Popular Fiction : From the Mid-Nineteenth to the Mid-Twentieth Centuries Hsu-Ming Teo , 2012 single work criticism
— Appears in: Sold by the Millions : Australia's Bestsellers 2012; (p. 46-66)
'The analysis offered here is [...], a panoptic perspective of the tangled skeins of literary imagination and imitation, gender and genre requirements, editorial control, market considerations and the sheer economics of the international book trade that knotted Australian popular literature into the cultural and economic fabric of the British empire.' (47)
On Rosa Praed's Affection for Australian Aboriginal Blacks from the Perspective of 'Fugitive Ann, A Romance of the Unexplored Bush' Xin Xin Li , 2010 single work criticism
— Appears in: Journal of Xihua University , 30 August vol. 29 no. 4 2010; (p. 89-91)
Tropical Flowers : Romancing North Queensland in Early Female Fiction and Poetry Cheryl M. Taylor , 2009 single work criticism
— Appears in: LiNQ , vol. 36 no. 2009; (p. 135-160)
Cheryl Taylor discusses seven female writers who were inspired by and wrote about North Queensland. She concludes, in part, that 'the flower authors see tropical Queensland as a place of liberation for women.... where young female characters assert an identity freed from parental or marital restrictions'.
More Lost and Found : In Australia Graham Stone , 2001 single work review
— Appears in: Notes on Australian Science Fiction 2001; (p. 148-151)

— Review of Blood Tracks of the Bush : An Australian Romance Simpson Newland 1900 single work novel ; God in the Sand : An Australian Mystical Romance Theodore Price 1934 single work novel ; Full Moon Bay William Pengreep 1934 single work novel ; The Temple of Sahr William Pengreep 1932 single work novel ; The Hidden Kingdom M. Lynn Hamilton 1932 single work novel ; The Valley of Adventure : A Story for Boys E. V. Timms 1926 single work ; The Invisible Island : A Story of the Far North of Queensland Alexander Macdonald 1910 single work children's fiction ; Fugitive Anne : A Romance of the Unexplored Bush Rosa Praed 1903 single work novel ; The Lost Civilization : A Story of Adventure in Central Australia Val Heslop 1936 single work novel
Untitled single work review
— Review of Fugitive Anne : A Romance of the Unexplored Bush Rosa Praed 1903 single work novel
New Books 1903 single work review
— Appears in: The Australian Town and Country Journal , 24 June vol. 66 no. 1742 1903; (p. 16)

— Review of Fugitive Anne : A Romance of the Unexplored Bush Rosa Praed 1903 single work novel
Troubled Homecomings : Rosa Praed and Lemuria Kay Ferres , 2000 single work criticism
— Appears in: Queensland Review , October vol. 7 no. 2 2000; (p. 25-36)
Fabulating the Australian Desert : Australia's Lost Race Romances, 1890-1908 Melissa Bellanta , 2004 single work criticism
— Appears in: Philament , April no. 3 2004;
Ethnographic Desires and Fugitive Anne : A Romance of the Unexplored Bush Tanya Dalziell , 2004 single work criticism
— Appears in: Settler Romances and the Australian Girl 2004; (p. 25-50, notes 144-146)
'As Unconscious and Gay as a Trout in a Stream?' : Turning the Trope of the Australian Girl Tanya Dalziell , 2003 single work criticism
— Appears in: Feminist Review , no. 74 2003; (p. 17-34)
This article forms the basis for a chapter in Dalziell's later work Settler Romances and the Australian Girl.
Unknown Australia : Rosa Praed's Vanished Race Andrew McCann , 2005 single work criticism
— Appears in: Australian Literary Studies , May vol. 22 no. 1 2005; (p. 37-50)
Examines the presentation of colonialism in some of Praed's work, in particular in her novel Fugitive Anne with its fantasy of the lost Lemurians.
Last amended 6 Oct 2016 13:39:35
Subjects:
  • c
    England,
    c
    c
    United Kingdom (UK),
    c
    Western Europe, Europe,
  • Australian Outback, Central Australia,
  • c
    Australia,
    c
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X