AustLit logo
Molesworth Jeffery Molesworth Jeffery i(A44224 works by)
Also writes as: M. J. ; The Wanderer ; Historicus Loquitur
Born: Established: 26 Jul 1811 London,
United Kingdom (UK),
Western Europe, Europe,
; Died: Ceased: 24 Mar 1900 New Norfolk, Derwent Valley, Southeast Tasmania, Tasmania,
Gender: Male
Arrived in Australia: 19 Apr 1835
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Molesworth Jeffery was the fifth son of Bartholomew Jeffery, governor of the Royal Exchange, St Thomas's Hospital and Bartholomew's Hospital, and his wife Wilhelmina, nee Molesworth. He was educated by a private tutor (Mr Constable) and at Egglesfield House. There is no evidence that he undertook university studies, although several of his brothers studied at Cambridge University. He served in the army for several years before working with the family trading firm and travelling extensively in England and Europe. Jeffery embarked on the Vibilia for Van Diemen's Land on 23 December 1834. Upon arrival, he stayed with friends at Ross and later bought properties at Lachlan near New Norfolk, known then as Elizabeth Town. On 23 November 1836, he married a Tasmanian girl Eliza Raynor, daughter of William Raynor Jnr, and commenced building a home at Lachlan to be known as 'Bournbank'. The Jefferys took up residence there on 6 April 1845. They had thirteen children of whom ten survived. Jeffery became the first J.P. for the district, and in 1865 was the architect for a new school-house and chapel in the village of Lachlan. He was elected a Fellow and Life Member of the Royal Society of Tasmania in the early 1870s. Eliza Jeffery died on 17 September 1881.

Most Referenced Works


  • Molesworth Jeffery uses the initials 'M.J.' to signify his authorship of most of his poetry.

Known archival holdings

3 letters, dated: April 5th, August 4th, and August 18, 1890. National Library of Australia (ACT)
Last amended 8 Oct 2013 09:55:49
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: