AustLit logo
Lyre Bird Writers Lyre Bird Writers i(A37158 works by) (Organisation) assertion
Born: Established: 1949 Sydney, New South Wales, ; Died: Ceased: 1972 Sydney, New South Wales,
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Lyre Bird Writers was founded in Sydney as a writers' publishing cooperative by Roland Robinson, Nancy Cato and Kevin Collopy. The first title published was Robinson's Language of the Sand: Poems (1949), followed by Cato's The Darkened Window: Poems (1950). Other writers who joined the cooperative to publish their own works were Nancy Keesing, Ray Mathew, John Blight, Vivian Smith and David Rowbotham. Between 1949 and 1956 eight titles were published, including Keesing's Imminent Summer (1951) with a frontispiece by Norman Lindsay. The first Lyre Bird Writers' books were designed, set and printed by Edwards and Shaw. The press was revived in 1969 by Roland Robinson, with the publication of Tim Thorne's Tense Mood and Voice.

Most Referenced Works

Last amended 2 Jan 2007 11:36:34
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: