AustLit logo
Australasian Book Society Australasian Book Society i(A36997 works by) (Organisation) assertion (a.k.a. Australasian Book Society Ltd)
Born: Established: 1952 ; Died: Ceased: 1981
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Australasian Book Society was a cooperative publishing society which funded the publication of Australian authors through members' subscriptions. Founded in Melbourne at a meeting convened by George Seelaf, the society initially had Communist Party and trade union associations, and published largely left wing and democratic novels. It provided members with up to four books each year for their subscription. The first editor was Ian Turner; when the society moved to Sydney around 1959 Jack Beasley took over as editor. Of the eighty-three books published by the society, seventy were from original manuscripts, and the balance were acquired from commercial publishers.

Most Referenced Works

Known archival holdings

State Library of New South Wales (NSW)
Last amended 24 Apr 2012 12:34:51
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: