AustLit logo


Tim Thorne Tim Thorne i(A15423 works by)
Also writes as: Dorian Laurent
Born: Established: 1944 Launceston, Northeast Tasmania, Tasmania, ; Died: Ceased: 16 Sep 2021 Launceston, Northeast Tasmania, Tasmania,
Gender: Male
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Tim Thorne, poet, critic, teacher of modern languages, journalist, editor and publisher, was born in Launceston and educated at the University of Tasmania. He lived in Sydney for some time (1967-68) where he became associated with the new poetry movement and the journal Poetry Magazine (later New Poetry). In 1971-72, after winning a writing scholarship, he studied at Stanford University in California. In Tasmania, Thorne became greatly involved in the development of a regional literature there, and he founded - and for 17 years directed - the Tasmanian Poetry Festival, which started the Launceston Poetry Cup.

Thorne's poems have been widely anthologised, and he has published a number of collections of his own poetry and edited other collections and anthologies, particularly of Tasmanian poetry. He has given numerous poetry readings in Australia and abroad, and has organised workshops on poetry and writing classes, often within the Tasmanian community, but also on the mainland and in the UK. He has also written for various journals and newspapers, including a regular column on contemporary affairs for the Hobart Mercury.

Awards and prizes he has received include: Stanford Writing Scholarship (1971); New Poetry Award (1973); Marten Bequest Travelling Scholarship for poetry (1978); Gleebooks Poetry Sprint (1995); grants and fellowships from the Australia Council (1975, 1977 - 1979) and from Arts Tasmania (1986 and 1992); the Grand Archer Poetry Mug (Shoalhaven Poetry Festival, 2002); and the William Baylebridge Memorial Prize for his A Letter to Egon Kisch (2007).

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

Awards for Works

Fukushima Suite 2014 sequence poetry
— Appears in: Island , no. 139 2014; (p. 90-91)
2014 winner Gwen Harwood Memorial Poetry Prize
Last amended 3 Nov 2021 09:39:06
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: