AustLit logo
y separately published work icon The Tintagel Cycle series - author   novel   historical fiction  
Issue Details: First known date: 2015... 2015 The Tintagel Cycle
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

Conceived as a trilogy, the Tintagel Cycle books chart the life of the first High Kings of the Britons.

Includes

1
y separately published work icon The Blood of Kings M. K. Hume , Sydney : Hachette Australia , 2015 8426247 2015 single work novel historical fiction

'The start of a stunning new trilogy charting the life of the first High King of the Britons, sure to appeal to fans of George R R Martin, Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow

'Flavius Magnus Maximus, a man of great ability and enormous charm, is hailed as one of the most influential Roman officers in Britain. When he befriends Caradoc Strong Arm, the King of the Dumnonii Tribe in Tintagel, he gains an understanding of the disunity that exists between the tribal kings of Britain and thus an ambitious plan ignites within Maximus's mind...

'As the first High King of the Britons, Maximus gathers together a huge force of brave Roman and British warriors and leads them into battle at Gaul. He has cast his eyes on the throne of the Emperor of Rome and nothing will stand in his way...' (Publication summary)

2
y separately published work icon The Poisoned Throne M. K. Hume , London : Headline Review , 2016 10197761 2016 single work novel historical fiction

'A decade has passed since the death of Caradoc, King of the Dumnonii tribe, and his friend, Flavius Magnus Maximus. Britain is battered by Pict invaders, and centurion Constantinus and his legionnaires are fighting them to the death. Maximus's daughter, Lady Severa, holds the key to the throne of the High King of the Britons and when she is threatened with abduction, Constantinus escorts her to the safety of Tintagel. Agreeing to marry her, he is crowned the High King, and Severa bears him two sons, Ambrosius and Uther. But, as the ruler of Britain, Constantinus is poisoned by greed and jealousy, and his thirst for greatness in the Roman Empire will cost him dear...' (publication blurb)

3
y separately published work icon The Wolf of Midnight M. K. Hume , London : Headline Review , 2018 14154213 2018 single work novel historical fiction

The gripping conclusion to M. K. Hume's stunning Tintagel trilogy, that takes readers into a world of bloody battlefields, evil machinations, honour, ambition and greed. Sure to appeal to fans of George R R Martin, Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow.

'The Wolf of Midnight is the thrilling final instalment in M. K. Hume's Tintagel trilogy, not to be missed by fans of George R R Martin and Bernard Cornwell. This gripping conclusion takes readers on a journey of bravery and brutality within tribal Britain and throughout the Roman Empire: a world of bloody battlefields, evil machinations, honour, ambition and greed.

'When Flavius Constantine, the High King of Britannia, is killed and his eldest son and heir Constans, is murdered, the path lies clear for Vortigern to seize the throne.

'Only Queen Severa's young sons, Ambrosius and Uther, stand in the way of Vortigern's evil plan. Sensing the boys are in mortal danger, Constantine's loyal Decurion, Paulus, and Severa's beloved brother, Pridenow, smuggle the infants into exile.

'Meanwhile, Queen Severa is forced to endure Vortigern's relentless brutality in her desperate bid to hold together the fractured throne. But she is no match for the Wolf of Midnight and it is only in the fullness of time that her sons will return to Britannia to claim the throne and fulfil their destiny... ' (Publication summary)

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

First known date: 2015
Last amended 5 Oct 2016 07:00:57
Newspapers:
    Powered by Trove
    X