AustLit logo
The Joanne Burns Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The precise form that The joanne burns Award will take each year may change. For the past two years, for instance, the Spineless Wonders prose poem/microfiction competition has called for submissions with a maximum of 800 word limit. In future years, The joanne burns Award may be for other brief forms, such as nanofiction or for blended, genre-bending prose poem or poetic prose forms yet to be developed.

'The theme of each year’s joanne burns Award will also vary. Some years the theme may be open whilst in others, such as in the 2012 Australian icons competition, the theme will be specified.

'As in previous years, the competition will be blind judged according to the criteria set out in the Terms and Conditions. The joanne burns Award judge for each year, along with the competition parameters, will be announced in the first half of each year.

'The joanne burns Award will carry a monetary reward as well as an offer of publication for those pieces judged to be the highest quality entries in our annual competitive cull.' (Source :


2021 winner (National category) Jane O'Sullivan
2021 winner (Hunter category) Deborah Van Heekeren
2019 winner (Hunter category) Shaynah Andrews for 'The Ocean Has Made Promises'.
2019 winner (National category) Kate Rees for 'No White M&Ms'.
2018 winner (Hunter category) Jan Dean for 'Fish Flops and Flaps'.
2018 winner (National category) Brenda Saunders for 'Birding'.
2017 winner (Hunter category) Luke Evans for 'You Can't Go Home Again'
2017 winner (National category) Tess Pearson For 'Traces'.
2016 winner Koi Karen Whitelaw , 2016 single work short story
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2016 2016; (p. 146-147)
2015 winner Nick Couldwell for 'Dancing'
2014 winner (Micro-lit Award) Dancing Nick Couldwell , 2015 single work prose
— Appears in: Out of Place : Prose Poems and Microfiction 2015; (p. 47) Award Winning Australian Writing 2015 2015; (p. 68-69)
2014 winner Susan McCreery For 'Hold Up' and 'Lights'
2013 winner Mark Smith For '10:42 to Sydenham'.
2013 winner Mark Roberts For 'Cities that are not Dublin'