y Clancy of the Outback series - publisher   radio play   historical fiction  
Issue Details: First known date: 1963... 1963 Clancy of the Outback
AustLit is a subscription service. The content and services available here are limited because you have not been recognised as a subscriber. Find out how to gain full access to AustLit

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

An adventures series set during Australia's gold rush, Clancy of the Outback is a series of discrete stories tied together by the presence of Clancy.

For a list of episode titles and broadcast dates, see Notes.


  • List of episodes

    1. Captain of the Road (24 April 1963)

    2. The Young Prospector (1 May 1963)

    3. Gold of a Different Colour (8 May 1963)

    4. The Empty Saddle (15 May 1963)

    5. Strange Voyage (22 May 1963)

    6. The Rivals (29 May 1963)

    7. Leaves of Life (5 June 1963)

    8. Ancient Rights (12 June 1963)

Production Details

  • Aired on the BBC's Light Programme at 7:31pm from 24 April to 12 June 1963.

    Producer: Charles Maxwell.

    Recurring cast members included Dick Bentley (Clancy), Reg Lye (Swaggy McCool), Margaret Christensen (Ma Elliot), June Salter (Kitty Elliot), and David Nettheim (Sergeant Roper).

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

Last amended 8 Dec 2014 14:45:42
  • Australian Outback, Central Australia,
    Powered by Trove