AustLit logo
Most Outstanding Miniseries or Telemovie (2013-)
Most Outstanding Single Drama or Miniseries (1991-2012)
Best Single Drama or Mini Series (1982-1985)
Subcategory of Logie Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The early years of this award (post-1991 restoration) are confusing.

Prior to 2013, nominees in this category were sometimes included under the Most Outstanding Drama Series award (occasionally called Most Outstanding Achievement in Drama Production, Most Outstanding Drama Series, Miniseries or Telemovie, and other titles).

In other years, there would be separate nominees and winners for mini-series / telemovies and for drama series.

The two categories were finally severed in 2013. Before 2013, only those years that showed a distinct winner / list of nominees in this specific category are included here: for other winners, see Outstanding Drama Series.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2022

winner form y separately published work icon Fires The Fires Belinda Chayko , Jacquelin Perske , Mirrah Foulkes , Steven McGregor , Anya Beyersdorf , Australia : Tony Ayres Productions , 2021 20851564 2021 series - publisher film/TV

'The Tony Ayres Productions (TAP) series is planned as a serialised anthology, inspired by the stories of the people who survived the catastrophe and continue to endure its aftermath.

'Each episode will be based around character studies of ordinary people caught in the unimaginable and the impossible choices they were forced to make. These will include volunteer firefighters; families who lost homes, livelihoods and loved ones; people who had to make agonising decisions about whether to stay or flee; and others who found themselves responsible for the lives of friends and strangers.'

Source: Inside Film ( (Sighted: 3/12/2020)

Year: 2019

winner form y separately published work icon Bloom Glen Dolman , Matt Cameron , Alison Nisselle , ( dir. John Curran et. al. )agent Australia : Playmaker Media Stan , 2019 14048603 2019 series - publisher film/TV science fiction fantasy

'[O]ne year after a devastating flood kills five locals [...] a new plant appears with the power to restore people’s youth.'

Source: Deadline ( (Sighted: 6/6/2018).

Year: 2018

winner form y separately published work icon Romper Stomper Geoffrey Wright , James Napier-Robertson , Omar Musa , Malcolm Knox , ( dir. Geoffrey Wright et. al. )agent Australia : Stan , 2018 11527496 2018 series - publisher film/TV

Set twenty-five years after the original film, the series follows the new generation of far-right activists and the anti-fascist groups who oppose them.

Year: 2017

winner form y separately published work icon The Kettering Incident Vicki Madden , Louise Fox , Cate Shortland , Andrew Knight , Vincent Sheehan , ( dir. Rowan Woods et. al. )agent Australia : Sweet Potato Films Porchlight Films , 2015 8238559 2015 series - publisher film/TV fantasy horror

'When two girls mysteriously disappear in identical circumstances in the wilds of Tasmania 15 years apart, Doctor Anna Macy finds herself inexplicably linked to both cases. To clear her name, Anna must delve into her troubled past and face some truths about herself and the otherworldly nature of this gothic land.'

Source: Screen Australia.

Year: 2016

winner form y separately published work icon The Secret River Mac Gudgeon , Jan Sardi , ( dir. Fred Schepisi ) 2015 Australia : Ruby Entertainment Australian Broadcasting Corporation , 2015 7504796 2015 series - publisher film/TV historical fiction

'In 1810, emancipated English convict William Thornhill stakes a claim on 100 acres of land on the remote Hawkesbury River in New South Wales, only to find that a clan of Aboriginal people also lay claim to the land, as they have done since time immemorial.' (Production summary)