AustLit logo
Alexis Wright single work   interview  
Issue Details: First known date: 2018... 2018 Alexis Wright
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

AbstractHistoryArchive Description

'Alexis Wright is the only person to have won both prizes named in honour of Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin, the Stella Prize and the Miles Franklin Award. She won the Miles Franklin Award in 2007 for her magnificent novel Carpentaria, and the Stella Prize in 2018 for her extraordinary biography of Bruce ‘Tracker’ Tilmouth, Tracker.'  (Introduction)

Reading Australia

Reading Australia

This work has Reading Australia teaching resources.

Unit Suitable ForAC: Senior Secondary English (Unit 2)

Duration 9 activities and associated synthesising tasks over as many lessons as will allow the work to be completed. A range of options for the Culminating rich assessment task is also included.

Curriculum Summary

Find a summary table for Australian Curriculum: English content descriptions for this unit.


Aboriginal deaths in custody, connection to place, displacement, dispossession of land and culture, dreams, family, identity, Indigenous, justice, resilience, survival

General Capabilities

Critical and creative thinking, Ethical understanding, Intercultural understanding, Literacy, Personal and social

Cross-curriculum Priorities

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Sustainability


  • Transcript available from the website.

  • Show notes: 

    • Alexis Wright is a member of the Waanyi nation of the southern highlands of the Gulf of Carpentaria. She is the first person to have won both the Miles Franklin Literary Award and the Stella Prize.
    • Alexis’ fiction includes:
      • Tracker (2017), awarded the Stella Prize
      • The Swan Book (2013)
      • Carpentaria (2006), awarded the Miles Franklin Literary Award
      • Plains of Promise (1997).
    • Wright is a Distinguished Research Fellow at Western Sydney University. She has published the non-fiction works Take Power, an oral history of the Central Land Council, and Grog War, a study of alcohol abuse in the Northern Territory. She is a member of the Australian Research Council research project ‘Other Worlds: Forms of World Literature’, where she is focusing on forms of Aboriginal oral storytelling.

Publication Details of Only Known VersionEarliest 2 Known Versions of

  • Appears in:
    y separately published work icon The Garret : 2018 Nic Brasch (interviewer), Astrid Edwards (interviewer), Melbourne : Bad Producer Productions , 2018 14752153 2018 series - publisher interview Melbourne : Bad Producer Productions , 2018

    Posted 20 April 2018.

Last amended 20 Nov 2018 09:04:04
    Powered by Trove