AustLit logo
Nestle Smarties Book Prize
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Nestlé Children's Book Prize, and Nestlé Smarties Book Prize for a time, was a set of annual awards for British children's books that ran from 1985 to 2007. It was administered by Booktrust, an independent charity that promotes books and reading in the United Kingdom, and sponsored by Nestlé, the manufacturer of Smarties candy. It was one of the most respected and prestigious prizes for children's literature.' (é_Smarties_Book_Prize

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2000

winner (Under 5) y separately published work icon Max Bob Graham , Bob Graham (illustrator), London : Walker Books [London] , 2000 Z669052 2000 single work picture book children's Max, the young son of superheroes, is a late bloomer when it comes to flying, until he is inspired by the plight of a falling baby bird. (Libraries Australia)

Year: 1999

winner (0–5 years) y separately published work icon Buffy : An Adventure Story Bob Graham , Bob Graham (illustrator), London : Walker Books [London] , 1999 Z820277 1999 single work children's fiction children's adventure