AustLit logo
A. Bertram Chandler Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The A. Bertram Chandler Award (also known as the Chandler Award) is presented by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation for 'Outstanding Achievement in Australian Science Fiction'.

The award recognises 'significant and sustained contributions to the appreciation of science fiction in Australia'. It was inaugurated by the Foundation to recognise the contribution that A. Bertram Chandler made to Australian science fiction. Chandler had a four decade-long career as a science fiction writer, much of it spent in Australia. In all, he published more than 40 novels and collections and more than 240 works of short fiction.

The first Chandler Award was presented in 1992 to Van Ikin at the National Science Fiction Convention.

This award is decided upon by a jury and is not necessarily presented every year.

Source: Sighted: 29/11/2013.