AustLit logo
The Lady Cutler Award
or Lady Cutler Award for Distinguished Services to Children's Literature in New South Wales
Subcategory of Children's Book Council of Australia Awards Children's Book Council of Australia (New South Wales) Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Presented by the New South Wales branch of the Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) for distinguished service to children’s literature. 

The award commemorates Lady Helen Cutler's contribution to CBCA NSW. Lady Cutler was their first Patron, and remained so until her death in 1990.

The inaugural award was presented in 1981, and sponsored by Hodder & Stoughton until 2011. In 2012, the award became sponsored by publishing company Peribo.

In 2016, the annual award became biennial.


2020 winner Libby Hathorn
2018 Karen Jameyson
2016 Paul Macdonald
2015 Heather Fisher
2014 Jill B. Bruce
2013 Viv Nicoll-Hatton
2012 Robyn Ewing
2011 Margaret Wild
2010 Sarah Foster
2009 Chris Cheng
2008 Dianne Bates
2007 Susanne Gervay
2005 Val Noake
2004 Robin Morrow
2003 winner Donna Rawlins
2002 winner Sandy Campbell
2001 winner Mark Macleod
2000 winner Helen Sykes
1999 winner Miranda Harrowell
1998 winner Kate Colley
1997 Libby Gleeson
1996 winner Glenise Meldrum Awarded in recognition of Meldrum's contribution to the promotion of reading material with children and young adults. She was the first librarian from a country area to receive this award.
1995 winner Jean Walter Morgan
1994 winner Jean Ferguson
1993 winner Myra Lee
1992 winner June Smith
1991 Margaret Hamilton
1990 winner Jean Chapman
1989 H. M. Saxby
1988 winner Lydia Pender
1987 winner Val Watson
1986 Patricia Wrightson
1985 winner Walter Cunningham
1984 Anne Bower Ingram
1983 winner Ena Noel
1982 winner Joyce Fardell
1981 winner Eve Pownall