AustLit logo
Queensland Theatre Company / The Courier-Mail George Landen Dann Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Established in 1992, the award was presented by the Queensland Theatre Company in association with the Courier-Mail. Recipients were young playwrights, whose work was then usually workshopped and staged by the Queensland Theatre Company.

The award was reviewed in 1994, after which it was decided to present the award biannually, beginning in 1995. No awards were presented in either 1994 or 1996, when the award was again reviewed, and reinstated as an annual award.

The award was ultimately terminated in 2006, when it was replaced with a revamped Young Playwrights Program.

There were no winners in 1994, 1996 and 2001.


2006 (winner) The Rainbow Dark Victoria Carless , 2006 2006 single work drama
— Appears in: Staging Asylum : Contemporary Australian Plays about Refugees 2013; (p. 43-66)
2005 winner Magda's Fascination with Wax Cats Maxine Mellor , 2005 single work drama
— Appears in: Independent Brisbane : Four Plays 2008; (p. 172-221) The Australian Play Bundle # 2 2013;
2004 winner I, Witness The Silence Aedan Whyatt , 2004 single work drama under the title 'I, Witness'
2000 winner Paul Galloway for Great Leaders of the Twentieth Century
1999 winner The Dance of Jeremiah Matthew Ryan , 2000 single work drama humour
— Appears in: Summer Wonderland [and] The Dance of Jeremiah 2007; (p. 113-183) The Australian Play Bundle # 2 2013;
1998 winner The Postcard Angela Betzien , 1999 single work drama
1997 joint winner y separately published work icon Georgia Jill Shearer , 1999 Strawberry Hills : Currency Press , 2000 Z556954 1999 single work drama The great American artist Georgia O'Keeffe is physically, emotionally and artistically debilitated by her failing eyesight. Living amidst the Navajo spiritual landscape in her desert home in New Mexico, she becomes prey to the ghosts of her past. Her solitude is broken by Juan, a young potter, whose curious influence on her life remains until her death at 98. It is through this intriguing relationship that the conflicts that lie at the heart of Georgia's life are explored: the sexual tensions that survive her physical deterioration and the fear and frustration of failing artistic powers. (Publisher's blurb, back cover).
1995 winner David McCartney for Asylum
1993 winner y separately published work icon Composing Venus Elaine Acworth , Paddington : Currency Press , 1995 Z267157 1995 single work drama

Set in the northern Queensland town of Charters Towers the action takes place over one day in 1957 - the day on which the world's first artificial satellite (the Sputnik) and a symbol of the possibilities of the future is to be seen in the sky over the town. It is also the day during which most of the characters will have to deal with significant and sometimes painful change. The main character, Clivvy, is thirty seven years old and is battling with the past and her inability to leave the town. Having won a sponsorship to go overseas to study piano at age nineteen the war intervened. In the following years many other occurrences deny her a life of her own. It is, however, her sense of being a composer - with her music coming 'out of the underbrush' which gives her the strength she needs.

1992 winner Daynan Brazil for The Surgical Table