AustLit logo
Nobel Prize in Literature
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


In May 2018, it was announced that after a series of resignations and public scandal, no prize would be awarded in 2018: instead, two laureates will be named in 2019.


2003 J. M. Coetzee 'who in innumerable guises portrays the surprising involvement of the outsider' -- The Swedish Academy citation, 2 October 2003.
2000 winner Gao Xingjian
1973 Patrick White 'for an epic and psychological narrative art which has introduced a new continent into literature'.