AustLit logo
Officer of the Order of the British Empire
Subcategory of International Awards The Order of the British Empire
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


1990 (Civil) Peter Sculthorpe For service to music.
1981 Colin Simpson
1980 Ray Lawler For contributions to the performing arts.
1980 ((Civil)) Patsy Adam-Smith For literature
1979 Julie Anthony
1978 John Bell
1978 (for Service to Aboriginal Art and Culture) Dick Roughsey
1978 (for Services to Literature) Patricia Wrightson
1977 Rolf Harris This honour was revoked in March 2015, following Harris's conviction.
1977 Services to the Arts Gwen Meredith
1977 (Member (Civil)) Ida Elizabeth Osbourne Awarded under the name of Lea
1977 Nita Pannell Awarded for her contribution to performing arts.
1977 Guthrie Wilson
1976 (Civil) Rodney Seaborn Community and medicine
1976 Tom Quilty
1974 John Laws
1972 Alan Marshall
1970 (for Services to Literature) George Johnston
1970 (Civil) Jessica Scotford For community work.
1968 (Civil) Gertrude Langer Awarded for Langer's role as President of the Arts Council of Queensland.
1968 (Civil) Dorothea Mackellar For services to literature.
1968 Hector Crawford 'In recognition of service as Director of Music for the People'.
1968 (Officer (Civil)) Doug Nicholls
1967 Henrietta Drake-Brockman
1965 Reuben Francis Scarf Civil.
1962 Richie Benaud
1960 Tom Williams
1959 (Civil) Constance Mackness For servies to education in Queensland.
1959 Kenneth Slessor
1956 Asher Alexander Joel
1953 Hubert Opperman
1951 (Civil) Robert D. FitzGerald for literature
1946 J.H. Sexton Civil. President - Aboriginal Friends Association of SA
1938 (Civil) Marion Miller Knowles
1933 (Civil) John Flynn
1920 Kenneth Mackay
1920 John Laurence Rentoul
1918 Philadelphia N. Robertson Awarded for her work with the Red Cross.
1917 William Reay
Frank Hurley
Edward Ridley Bryan
Denis Warner