AustLit logo
Monte Miller Award
Subcategory of AWGIE Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


2019 winner (Short Form) Lâle Teoman
2019 winner (Long Form) Philip Tarl Denson
2018 winner (Long Form) Jules Duncan

for 'The Big Yarn'.

2018 winner (Short Form) Nir Shelter

for 'Home'.

2016 winner (Short Form) Katie Found For 'It Will Peck You'.
2016 joint winner (Long Form) Adam Spellicy With Penelope Chai, for Mary, Mary
2016 joint winner (Long Form) Penelope Chai With Adam Spellicy, for Mary, Mary.
2015 winner (Short form) Elizabeth Dias For The Brooch.
2015 winner (Long Form) Gemma Crofts For The Man from the Moon.
2014 winner (Short Form) y separately published work icon Paradise Anya Beyersdorf , 2014 (Manuscript version)7803164 7803159 2014 single work screenplay

Won the Monte Miller Award (short form) for the best unproduced screenplay by an associate member at the 2014 AWGIE Awards.

2014 winner (Long Form) y separately published work icon Vanished Alexei Mizin , Ryan van Dijk , 2014 (Manuscript version)7803037 7802951 2014 single work screenplay

Winner of the Monte Miller award (long form) for the best unproduced script by an association member at the 2014 AWGIE Awards.

2011 winner (Short Form) form y separately published work icon Space Jill Moylan , 2010 (Manuscript version)x402184 Z1832075 2010 single work film/TV
2011 winner (Long Form) form y separately published work icon Diving for Poland Andrea Rogers , 2010 (Manuscript version)x402179 Z1832044 2010 single work film/TV 'An impulsive drama, 15 year-old Rosy battles to unearth her family's secret and in doing so, uncovers her own truth. Sometimes betrayal is an act of love.' (Australian Writers' Guild website)
2009 winner (Short Form) y separately published work icon Broken Mitchell Forrester , 2008 (Manuscript version)x402093 Z1622358 2008 single work screenplay

'Broken' is about Adam, a pre-teen kid who is just trying to get through a really tough day ... It's about who we become when we have to grow up faster than we'd like to. It's about pain, resilience, being different and the birthplace of friendship. It addresses that life still has a way of offering us hope no matter how bleak things get.

Source: Mitchell Forrester quoted on the RMIT University website, (sighted 08/09/2009)

2009 winner (Long Form) form y separately published work icon Box James Greville , 2008 (Manuscript version)x402092 Z1622334 2008 single work film/TV
2008 winner (Short Form) Running Rebecca Glenn , 2008 single work drama
2008 winner (Long Form) form y separately published work icon The Butterfly Tree Priscilla Cameron , 2008 2008 10406449 2008 single work film/TV

'Young Fin (The Visit's Ed Oxenbould) and his father Al (Ewen Leslie) are grieving the loss of Fin's mother three years before, albeit in very different and singular ways. When their small town gains a new florist — a mysterious, warm, and beautiful woman named Evelyn (the luminous Melissa George) — Al and Fin encounter her uniquely, each without the other's knowledge.

'In short order, Evelyn electrifies them both. But when father and son discover they are, essentially, competing for Evelyn's attention, the emotionally charged events that transpire threaten to unravel their already-threadbare relationship.'

Source: Toronto International Film Festival ( Sighted: 13/09/2017

2006 joint winner Robert Rabiah for Jericho
2006 joint winner Evan Clarry for Jericho
2005 winner Jacqueline Cook for Raw
2000 winner Nick Stevens for Onotoa
1997 winner Gabrielle Prendergast for Breathe
1992 winner Patricia Best for The Punch and Judy Man
1990 winner Nick Stevens for Over in One
1988 winner Robyn Sinclair for Started Out Fine
1985 winner y separately published work icon A Different Drummer D. H. Crick , Melbourne : Gold Star , 1972 Z806631 1972 single work novel
1984 winner form y separately published work icon Celia Ann Turner , ( dir. Ann Turner ) Australia : Seon Films , 1989 Z1865500 1989 single work film/TV horror fantasy

When nine-year-old Celia's socialist grandmother dies, she is left to the care of her largely disinterested parents and her own imagination, which peoples the world around her with Hobyahs, the threatening bogeymen from the story read by her schoolteacher. When the openly Communist Tanner family move in next door, Celia finds some comfort in their friendship. But in small-town Australia in the 1950s, in the midst of anti-Communist backlash and a rabbit plague, neither the Tanners nor Celia's pet rabbit Murgatroyd are safe from the patriarchal authorities that constrain Celia's life.

For a detailed analysis of the film, see Ruthless Culture ( (Sighted: 7/6/2012).

1983 winner D. H. Crick for The Veronica
1974 winner The Anthem Jay Bland , 1974 single work drama