AustLit logo
Indie Awards
or Indie Book Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Indie Awards were established in 2008 by Leading Edge Books, a buying and marketing group for more than 200 Australian independent bookshops. Panels of judges (booksellers and readers) choose winners from four book categories – fiction, debut fiction, non-fiction and children’s. Independent booksellers from around the country then vote to select their favourite book for the year, which wins Book of the Year.

Source: Sighted: 3/12/2013.

Winners (also see subcategories)v1893