AustLit logo


National NAIDOC Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The annual NAIDOC Awards recognise the outstanding contributions that Indigenous Australians make to improve the lives of Indigenous people in their communities and beyond, or to promote Indigenous issues in the wider community, or the excellence they’ve shown in their chosen field.' (Source: NAIDOC website)

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1716

Year: 2015

winner (Northern Territory) Linda Payi Ford Caring for Country Award
winner (Northern Territory) Kathy Guthadjaka NT Elder on Country (Female) Award.

Year: 2013

winner (Lifetime Achievement Award) Yunupingu
winner (Artist of the Year) Tony Briggs

Year: 2003

(Special Achievement Award) Ida West

Year: 1992

Works About this Award

NAIDOC Stars single work column NAIDOC Week has officially wrapped up for another year, with celebrations around the nation last week.
Elders Celebrated around the Nation 2023 single work column
— Appears in: Koori Mail , 12 July no. 805 2023; (p. 1, 26-29)
'Events have been held around the country to celebrate NAIDOC Week, with this year's theme paying special tribute to our Elders.'
Palawa Women Make a Clean Sweep of Awards Jillian Mundy , 2022 single work column
— Appears in: Koori Mail , 27 July no. 781 2022; (p. 30)
Stars Shine at NAIDOC in Narrm Awards Shine Light on First Nations Talent 2022 single work column
— Appears in: Koori Mail , 13 July no. 780 2022; (p. 1, 27-29)
Proudly Showcasing Our Deadly Achievers 2021 single work column
— Appears in: Koori Mail , 1 December no. 765 2021; (p. 28-29)
'BLAZING trails, protecting Country and speaking up for those whose voices aren't being heard are characteristics that have earned the winners recognition in this year's National NAIDOC Awards. National NAIDOC Committee co-chair John Paul Janke said the awards honour outstanding achievements by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people at the community and national level.'